Heatstroke

August 9, 2007 at 10:39 pm 4 comments

Hi guys.

Sorry I have not been writing.  The truth is I have been sick and a bit depressed.   But I am getting a little bit better.

The heat has been out of control in Baltimore.  It was 105 degrees yesterday, and I got a terrible headache that lasted for hours.  I was so sick I had to stay home from work.   I can deal with limited amounts of heat, but the heat seems to be increasing in the summer to levels that I just can’t handle.   And when I get too hot I get sluggish and things like blogging fall by the wayside.  I know some people think I should move North (T.Y.) but for now, it is just not possible.   And I am building up a retirement at my current employment and would like to keep it up until I get the chance to really retire.  And most of the time it is not too hot here. Just summer.  And boy is it ever.   If only I had the body for a thong…

My sister seems to be doing OK.   She has not been able to start her chemo… they did a scan of her and found a shadow on her lung which could be nothing but could be lung cancer and if so, they have to treat it a different way.  My mother and sister are convinced it is nothing and that everything will be fine.  The worrywart brother is the one who seems to take everything to heart.    I am really nervous. My sister has a biopsy on Monday and they will discover what it is.  So, sometimes I am upset and sometimes I have trouble sleeping.   And then I am tired and cranky and also don’t feel  like blogging.   Just don’t have the energy. 

But the good news is that I started seeing a therapist.  And I really like her and am going to see her once a week.   And she is really easy to talk to.   And I seem to be much more mixed up than I thought previously.   The only problem in talking to a therapist is you find so many other things that are wrong with you that you then need to work on and fix.   But you never really fix them.  You are just aware of them and you try to act in a different way but you have been doing what you have been doing for so long, it is hard.  You don’t have to tell me I am a worrier.  I know.   Been doing it for years.   Can’t stop now!

Anyway… am looking into joining a support group.  I will keep you posted.   I wonder if a group of Bears at the Eagle will count?  They would certainly cheer me up!  🙂

Anyway… thanks for reading even when I am not posting.  I will try and be better.

Hugs.

D

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Tired Camper Torchwood

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  August 9, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling a little better Hon! Maybe you and Chris should look into investing in another air conditioner for the condo besides the one in the bedroom!

    Stay cool Sweetie! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  August 10, 2007 at 4:03 am

    i was glad to see you back at posting
    thank you for your updates
    I suggest lemonade with plenty of ice.

    Reply
  • 3. diamondfistwerny  |  August 10, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Hoping all continues to be well in Dewey’s world. Next month I’m finally getting around to throwing a housewarming party. I’d really love for you and your man to come. It’s more an excuse to be social than anything else; and I think you’d fit right in!

    Reply
  • 4. Ashley  |  August 13, 2007 at 1:02 am

    You aren’t alone….. Hugs…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

