Mountains out of Molehills

September 12, 2007 at 8:47 pm 6 comments

Today I thought I was having a heart attack.

My chest has a sore spot.  It has been sore for about a week.   I started to get into panic mode, as I often do.  I think things are much worse than they really are.   By the time I got to work I was planning on entering full cardiac arrest.   So, it was decided that I should go to the doctor.

And I did.  They did an EKG.  Fine.  They did a chest x-ray.  Fine.   Blood pressure a bit high, but that is understandable with my anxiety levels.    Anyway, the bottom line is that I have something called Pleuracy (?)  and that it involves pain when I breathe in deeply, and an antibiotic should cure it.

I hate that I get so excited over nothing.  But I live in a chaotic family.  We thrive on chaos.   When something goes wrong, it only goes from bad to worse.  We expect things to always go downhill.

And  I had therapy this morning.  I am not sure if it is working.   We end up talking about things that I don’t really want to think about.   And I start crying.   And it seems my dad’s suicide, my sister’s drug use, my sister’s cancer, my aunt’s death, my cousin’s death and everything else are all tied up in this huge bundle of emotion that I somehow have got to get untangled. 

And I get upset.  And my chest hurts.  And maybe it is just anxiety and maybe I am having a panic attack.  Maybe it is all hypochondria  but I have to check to make sure. 

Then I come home to call my mother and she of course is out. 

Anyway.  Chris will be home soon and I think I am going to lie down for a bit.   I have had too long and too exciting a day.  I hope the rest of the week is calmer.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Untitled Just Funny

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  September 13, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    I’m glad that nothing was wrong with your heart! You need to take care of yourself! ((HUGS)) 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Debbi  |  September 13, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Take it easy Doug. I’m finding that stress can do amazing things to a body.
    Thinking of you.

    Reply
  • 3. diamondfistwerny  |  September 13, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    It’s called Pleurisy and it’s inflammation of the lining around the lungs. Did you ever smoke? And no wonder your panicky with all you’ve had going on! Hang in there.

    Reply
  • 4. Tony  |  September 14, 2007 at 6:29 am

    MR. D….HANG IN THERE. I’M THINKING YOU DO HAVE SOME ANXIETY INVOLVED. AND WHO KNOWS…MAYBE YOU HAVE HAD AN EQUIVALENT OF A PANIC ATTACK. GOD KNOWS I AM FAMILAR WITH THEM. WORK THROUGH IT, BREATHE, RELAX.

    Reply
  • 5. urspo  |  September 14, 2007 at 9:59 pm

    pleurisy is the infllammation of the lining of the lung chambers, and hurts when you breathe in, sometimes when you breath out.
    no fun in that; but beats a heart attack.

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. Sparky  |  September 16, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Just glad you are okay, Mister.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

