Good Weekend

September 17, 2007 at 11:28 am 4 comments

And  a bit of a lazy one.

We went to our favorite breakfast place on Saturday morning.  It seems that many of the staff have left to go to college.  There is a whole new “fall” staff, but the waitress that managed to serve us is not going to last very long.  She lacked any sort of emotion.    Chris asked her what kind of muffin they had today and she said “plain”.   and that was it.  She was also quite slow.   I don’t mind if you are a little bit slow, but her speed was ridiculous.   After all, I work in public service in a busy branch library, and I have to hustle all day.

Yesterday we went to the Corn  Maze in Shrewsbury PA and it was great fun.  It was a wonderful day for it, too. The temperature was 62, perfect for me.    And the maze was huge!  This year the theme was space travel so it was shaped like an astronaut and a planet.    You have to wander through the maze and find several stations, some that answer questions on your sheet, and some where you can do rubbings of the nine planets.     I had great fun yelling that I was looking for Uranus!    We did get a bit lost towards the end and struggled to find our way out of the maze.  It is so easy to get turned around and headed back where you came from.  We were in the maze for nearly 2 and a half hours.   Great fun.

The maze complex has loads of other smaller mazes you can do, like the bamboo maze and the fence maze, but we were so tired we left after the corn maze.  They are open through November so we might go back another weekend.   We never did find Venus!

Now it is Monday and I am not looking foward to another week of work.    I wish I could take six months off.   But I probably would be bored.   And I love my coworkers and I would miss them.   And I really do like my job, so I guess it will be all right.   Just Monday mornings you don’t wanna leave the house.   

Have a great day!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Dewey becomes “R” rated Happy Ending

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  September 17, 2007 at 1:14 pm

    “Chris asked her what kind of muffin they had today and she said “plain”. and that was it.”

    Exactly what flavor is “plain”? With a surly attitude like that I would have lopped her head off! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. diamondfistwerny  |  September 17, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    You’re on board. So glad you’re interested! Blog when the mood hits you!

    Steve

    http://diamondexperiment.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  September 18, 2007 at 3:34 am

    shouldn’t that be corn maize?

    Reply
  • 4. Tony  |  September 18, 2007 at 4:52 am

    I HAVE OFTEN WONDERED ABOUT THOSE MAZES. I TEND TO DO GOOD AT THOSE MAZE PUZZLES AND HAVE ALWAYS WONDERED WHAT IT WOULD BE LIKE TO BE IN ONE LIVE, AT A WHOLE OTHER PERSPECTIVE. WE HAVE A MAZE OF SORTS IN CALIFORNIA NEAR SACRAMENTO. NEVER MADE IT THERE WHEN I WAS IN NORTHERN CALIFORNIA. HOPE ALL IS WELL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

