The Army of Mary

September 27, 2007 at 10:09 pm 10 comments

9.jpg

 Today, six nuns were excommunicated for belonging to the Army of Mary.

What is the Army of Mary? Glad you asked.   It seems that in 1965, God started talking to a woman in Quebec named Marie-Paule.   He told her that she was the reincarnation of the Virgin Mary and that the people should follow her.  You can read all about the Army of Mary here:

 http://www.communaute-dame.qc.ca/oeuvres/OE_armee_AN.htm

 The Army of Mary was founded in 1971.  I started my Catholic High School experience in 1980.  Did you think they could have told me about this?   I might have found my calling.  I might have sold all my worldly possessions save for a pair of stout shoes.   I might have traveled to Quebec.   I might have been able to meet Marie-Paule for myself!

Apparently,  the Virgin Mary makes appearances all over the place. You just have to know where to look.  And Marie-Paule is now 86,  so is Mary looking for a replacement when it is time for her to go?    Maybe Baltimore would be the perfect setting for an epiphany.

You can read all about the tragedy of nuns in Arkansas here:

http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/09/27/nuns.excommunicated.ap/index.html

So I ask of you my fellow bloggers,  mainly those of you here in Baltimore – care to join me for a trip to Little Rock?  Those nuns own their own convent and they aren’t going anywhere.  We could be there in a few days.

And I have a nasty paper cut that needs healing.

The road to Heaven is just a breath away!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy My Week Update:

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. johnmichael  |  September 27, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    You want to be a nun?
    Seriously though, I have great respect for those who want to dedicate their lives to serving God. I think that it truly is a calling and I have only high praise to say about those who are doing it.
    Hope you are having a good week.

    Reply
  • 2. diamondfistwerny  |  September 28, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Very interesting. I’d never heard of any of this before!

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogi  |  September 28, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    Stop mixing your medications Hon! 😉

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  September 29, 2007 at 5:27 am

    poor nuns; but i admire their courage to stay their convictions in light of ex communication.

    Reply
  • 5. Coco  |  October 2, 2007 at 3:18 am

    I’ll go with you!

    How have you been? Your sister, mom, and honey…hope everyone is doing well : )

    I’m back…

    Take Care!!
    Blessings,
    Coco

    Reply
  • 6. john  |  October 2, 2007 at 4:07 am

    Hey there Darlin’! How have yoy been? That Wholy Mother, Merry Virgin of God really gets around, don’t she? You whouldn’t think an’ old Jew could be so spry…

    Huggs an’ kisses… Bunny Lynn

    Reply
  • 7. Doug  |  October 3, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    I hear there’s a big gay population in the Little Rock area. 😉

    Reply
  • 8. Kudos to my Blogroll « Defying Despondency  |  October 5, 2007 at 2:11 am

    […] Excommunication? […]

    Reply
  • 9. Some Good Reads « Queer Deviations  |  October 5, 2007 at 7:20 am

    […] Excommunication? […]

    Reply
  • 10. Kudos to my Blogroll «  |  November 26, 2007 at 10:22 am

    […] Excommunication? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

