My Week Update:

October 6, 2007 at 7:35 pm 4 comments

Just a note to let you all know that I am still alive.

And still in Pennsylvania until Monday.    My sister is doing well.  I took her to her chemo this week and sat with her as she got it.  She has to sit there for three and a half hours while three bags drip into her system.   She was in good spirits and that is really helping all of our moods.  She is taking this so well! I am so proud of her.    I really tried not to get sad as I looked around at all the people getting chemo.  There are so many of them.  All walks of life.   Cancer can just hit you anywhere at anytime.    But I had to push my sad thoughts away so I can keep my sister upbeat.   I have been trying to really tell my mom and sister about how I feel.  I really want to be honest and have them really know me.  And there are so many things I want to find out about my family.  It is too late to ask my dad, and everyone on his side is gone.   

 Another sad turn of events is the demise of my friend Tiger Yogi’s blog.  I am going to miss him so much.  He really is one of the kindest, most gentle, funny and interesting people that I have never met but got to know while blogging. I hope he comes back or checks in once in a while.   He will be truly missed.

 I have made a decision to stop reading my celebrity gossip pages.  I have been doing some serious thinking and reading my books about Buddhism and one thing I would like to change is that I don’t want to gossip anymore.  Not that I do much of it, but I really want to stop.  And I have decided even trashing a celebrity is kind of mean spirited.  They are people with problems just like us.   I don’t want to be the kind of person to revel in their pain. 

I may also give up news.  I am debating this.   We shall see. If I can cut back on coffee, I can do anything! 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Army of Mary Alanis

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. diamondfistwerny  |  October 6, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    I’m so glad things are well, and that you’re getting the opportunity to spend time with your Sister. I was very saddened to see Tiger close up his blog 😦

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  October 7, 2007 at 1:49 am

    It’s great how well your sister is taking this. I hope things go well. And good for you for seizing the opportunity you have with your family.

    If I recall, Tiger Yogi has left before, so he might be back again. You never know. It’s sometimes difficult to maintain a blog continuously over time.

    As for celebrity gossip and news (are they the same?), I avoid both. I check CNN and the local paper every so often, but I don’t have the stomach to read consistently.

    You may have already mentioned this, but which books about Buddhism do you like?

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  October 8, 2007 at 2:40 am

    i too miss tiger.
    cutting back on the news is good for one’s sanity. no need to cut it all out though.
    celebrity gossip softens the mind i have heard…..

    Reply
  • 4. kenyo  |  October 14, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    I hope all goes well for your sister.

    As for gossip, I solved my addiction to it. I decided gossip is just news that hasn’t been well researched. And we all need to follow the news, don’t we?.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

