New Direction

October 10, 2007 at 1:24 pm 3 comments

Working on changing some things about my life.

Have changed from coffee to mostly tea and that is helping my stomach.   I am trying to drink more herbal tea because my friend Steve told me that tea has more caffeine than coffee.   But, even still, I am drinking far less black tea than I did with the coffee every morning. I have some wonderful flavors! I bought two new ones today… dewy cherry and a roobios with mango.  Roobios is some kind of bush in Africa that makes good tea and has no caffeine.  Well, I guess it really isn’t tea, I think you call that a tisane.

I am going to try and stop eating red meats.   I did it before and was pretty much a vegetarian for 8 years and then I stopped. So I know I can do it.   I just get used to the convienance of things and order all the wrong foods.  If I still allow myself poultry,  it should be pretty easy.   Just have to get into the habit.  I know I can do it.  I have been reading more about Buddhism again and I think if I concentrate on the fact that poor cows have feelings too, it will make me feel bad about eating beef.  A cow is a living thing.  I should not eat it.   I mean, would I eat my pets?

I think a lot of this comes from seeing my sister.   For one thing, I have to be more in control of my own health. No one is going to do that for me.    And watching my sister fight and be so positive.   She is a trouper.   She is showing what you can do if you put  your mind to it.  And if I put my mind to it, I can do things too.  

My dog is snoring up a storm right now.  It is quite amusing!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Alanis Midnight in the ER

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirin  |  October 10, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    An excellent book on Buddhism and Animal Rights is “The Great Compassion: Buddhism and Animal Rights” by Norm Phelps. I highly recommend it!

    Reply
  • 2. arkano18  |  October 10, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    I’m a big fan of tea, you know? Just love its scent and flavor. The blends that I love best are Earl Grey, Berry Flavored, Oolong and Green Tea (the strong one, japanese traditional tea).

    I tried myself to quit on red meat… didn’t work. Though I’ve never been a red meat fan, basically because back where I grew up we eat tons of seafood.

    I hope your sis is doing better. Is amazing how one’s battle can inspire people around… She’s a trouper, and you’re wise for understand that and trying to manage your own health.

    See ya sweetie! And thanks for posting.

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  October 11, 2007 at 12:56 am

    You’re taking such a positive approach to your health. I’m proud of you!

    I hope things go well for your sister. *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

