Midnight in the ER

October 11, 2007 at 2:48 pm 6 comments

I had to take Chris to the emergency room last night.

Chris gets cluster headaches.  He gets them every two to three years and he can have them for a month.  I think they are similar to a migraine, the pain is so intense.    He has medicine that works but last night it was so bad his pill did not work.  So, I had to drive him to GBMC. 

 Luckily it was not too crowded.  We got there around ten and were home by one.    They gave him a shot of benedril and something for nausea.   It really seemed to help.     He got another one this morning but he took his pill and now he is sleeping.   He is staying home from work today.

I feel so helpless when he has them. He is in so much pain.   I can’t really do anything.   I try to be close to him but that is all I can do.   I wish I could do more. 

So, it seems like the health of those around me are just bad right now.   But I am hanging in there.  Trying to take care of myself as well as others.  But I have to take care of myself first or I can’t help anyone else.

I am tired at the moment and I have to work in two hours. Luckily I have had the morning off and I also have tomorrow off.  I have to do the baby story time on Saturday.  I hate the baby story time.  I am really not fond of babies. Sigh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New Direction Better and Sleepier

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirin  |  October 11, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    I hope that Chris feels better soon. You take care of yourself too! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  October 12, 2007 at 12:13 am

    Doug, you’re doing exactly what I would want if I were in his situation. Just be there. It helps.

    Give Chris my best for a quick recovery.

    I know how you feel about the babies. *comforting hugs*

    Reply
  • 3. arkano18  |  October 12, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Sweetie, Chris is gonna feel better. I’m sending good vibes for both of you.

    It’s difficult to see someone you love in pain. Because you tend to feel useless, even when is not your fault…

    You just hang in there, you have enough strength to bear this situation… just remember: you’re better if you’re ok.

    I send you the biggest hug and good vibes.

    Reply
  • 4. duane  |  October 14, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    Big hugs to you and Chris… I HATE cluster headaches… I really sympathize with him!

    Reply
  • 5. Debbi  |  October 17, 2007 at 4:02 am

    Oh man. I hope he’s feeling better. Hang in there.

    Reply
  • 6. Blobby  |  October 20, 2007 at 2:29 am

    Cleveland Clinic was doing a study on Cluster Headaches and providing neurostimulation to treat them. It was a fascinating idea actually.

    The problem is, of course, the patient had to have them w/regularity or they could induce them, just to treat them.

    ….all in the name of research, but hey, it seemed to be working.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

