In which Dewey’s vision begins to go downhill.

October 19, 2007 at 1:41 am 4 comments

I was driving on the beltway yesterday.

I began to notice that I was having trouble reading the exit signs.  I could read them when I was pretty close to them, just not as I was approaching.  I should be able to do that.

I have also noticed that my eyes get really tired when I read. Sometimes when I am done reading, my right eye hurts for quite a while.  And as reading is my bread and butter, I really need to do something about it.

So, I am taking tomorrow off to go to the eye doctor.  I am afraid of what he will say.  I really don’t want glasses the size of binoculars, but I think I am heading that way.    I also think I might need bifocals.  I really need to be able to focus better when I read.  I had reading glasses but I always forget to wear them and I am always reading here or there or everywhere.   Maybe bifocals are the way to go.    I know of another person who has them and he seems to be doing fine!

I do like my eye doctor so I am sure he will do what is best for me.   Then I will get to go and pick out new frames. Maybe a new dewey will emerge… but probably it will be the same tired old dewey you know and love.  But with better frames.  Well, new frames at any rate.    And it will be nice to have a three day weekend.  I was super busy this past week and was really feeling down in the dumps.  This will lift my spirits.  I hope it won’t take a long time to get the lenses.

I will need my new specks soon! 

Happy fall everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Fun with Tofu Cryin’ Shame

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urspo  |  October 19, 2007 at 1:57 am

    pish posh
    the 20/20 line is DEFODPCT
    memorize it and you won’t need glasses!

    Reply
  • 2. Kirin  |  October 19, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    Bi-focals are no big deal. You’ll be fine! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  October 19, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Ur-spo is a bad boy!

    We’ll all need glasses sooner or later. I had glasses for 10 years, then got lasik surgery, but I can tell I’ll need glasses again sometime.

    Reply
  • 4. diamondfistwerny  |  October 20, 2007 at 8:23 am

    I bet you’ll look mighty hot in a new pair of specs! You probably just have astigmatism. And don’t you just hate the beltway. I avoid it. 83 is all I’ll do LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

