All I want for Christmas

December 10, 2007 at 6:50 pm 5 comments

Luckily, I don’t have a large list of people that I have to buy prezzies for.

I really just have my mom, my sister and Chris.

Chris wants to get a new computer this year because  his desk top machine is getting rather old and that is all that he wants.    Although desk tops are a little cheaper than they were, I would like him to get a good one and spend the money now so that it will last for several years.  I am going to let him pick out the machine that he wants.   I might go and try and find him some little presents here and there but that will be his main gift.

My mom and sister are almost done.  I bought a few things for them back in October, and found a few things for them on the cruise, so I am off to a good start.   And I am not able to see them until Martin Luther King Jr. Day.   we had too many people off over the Christmas and New Year holidays so I can’t have my regular week off over New Year’s.  And I like to take a week off around a holiday so I get the extra day that I don’t have to use vacation.  So Martin Luther King week it is.  So, if I see some deals in January, I can pick them up.

Neither me, my mom, or my sister have a lot of extra cash anyway, so we only want to be very light and not spend a lot this year.    And when you get to be in your forties, there doesn’t seem to be a lot of things out there that you really want or need.   I have been trying to make up a Christmas list but it is hard.   I mostly like cd’s, dvd’s and sometimes a computer game.  Here is what I came up with so far.

1. A Nintendo DS lite.    And maybe a yoshi or mario game.  (or Zelda)

2.  The Xanadu Broadway soundtrack.

3. The Little Mermaid Broadway Soundtrack.

4. Rufus Wainwright singing Judy Garland on CD.

And, that so far is what I have come up with.    There are a few more cd’s coming out that I could want.   Fill me up with music.  I guess that is the key.

What is on your Holiday List?  

Hugs

D

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

omg!!!! Continuing on the theme….

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. duane  |  December 10, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    I wanted a DS lite too… and I already got it! Here’s hoping you get one too!

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  December 10, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    “And when you get to be in your forties, there doesn’t seem to be a lot of things out there that you really want or need. ”

    I hear that! Every year is a struggle to come up with suggestions!

    P.S. The video isn’t available anymore… 😦

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  December 11, 2007 at 5:07 am

    hohoho
    i post my list of christmas wants about a week ago, if you are interested.

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  December 11, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    It’s so good of you to buy Chris a new computer.

    I got absolutely nothing on my list this year. There aren’t any “things” I really want. I’m in my thirties, and I’ve got what you describe in your forties.

    Reply
  • 5. Ashley  |  December 15, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    All I want for Christmas is peace on earth and hardware and a backsplash for my master bathroom!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

