Doug and Chris tackle Pinter

December 17, 2007 at 10:49 pm 7 comments

This past Saturday Chris and I went to New York.

It was a last minute trip.  The Staff Association at work was taking up a bus for forty bucks a person and they needed us to help fill the bus, so we went.  And I managed to get cheap tickets to a Broadway show!

A Broadway show!

I got tickets to see The Homecoming by Harold Pinter, starring Ian MacShane.    I knew that Pinter was an award winning playwright, and that he had won several Tony’s for the show when it was first produced.   I figured, we needed some culture in our lives so we would give it a go.

It was the most bizarre thing I have ever seen.    My friend told me today that she had read Pinter in a course entitled “theater of the absurd” and I can believe it!   I thought that it might be depressing but it wasn’t really.  What it was was quite odd.

I would try to explain  it all to you but you would really have to see it to really understand what I mean. The good news is that if you are curious, there is a film version made in 1973 and it is available on Netflix so you can rent it.  If you decide to rent it,  get my email so that we can discuss.  I really need to find someone to discuss this one with!

The play itself was really well done and the acting was superb, and if Pinter is your thing you are in for a treat! And I really didn’t dislike the play, one thing that it does do is open up discussion.  You are left feeling that everything you saw might now be exactly what you think.  You start thinking about the dialogue and the play stays with you as you try to dissect it. I guess that is what good theater is all about.  I want to see the film to see if I missed anything.  I also want to try and read more Pinter to try and understand it better.  I guess this is a good thing!

We also wandered around New York, saw the Big Tree at Rockefeller Center, went to Dean and Deluca for cappucino’s and muffins, then went to our favorite restaurant, the Iguana, for lunch.   Then we saw the play nad headed back to Dean and Deluca to get some sandwiches for the long ride home.   We left an hour earier than we were supposed to because the threat of an ice storm that never materialized.   Thank goodness for that!

I hope you all had wonderful weekends!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Continuing on the theme…. Last minute suggestions and a great website

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urspo  |  December 18, 2007 at 4:16 am

    a matinee, a pinter play…..
    did you have a vodka stinger as well?

    Reply
  • 2. Bunny Lynn  |  December 18, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Hey there Darlin’, just a lil’ note to say “Howdy!”
    Huggs an’ kisses… Bunny Lynn

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  December 18, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Wow, that’s a Christmas treat to visit NYC!

    I love art that makes me want to find more work by that artist. Books, movies, plays, whatever.

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogiji  |  December 18, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Oh, you mad impetuous mad-caps, you!! 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  December 19, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    Alan Bennet [the UK’s best playwrite and a good Leeds lad] when asked to suggest something for Harrold Pinters 70th birthday. “How about two minutes silence?” was the reply.

    Reply
  • 6. Ashley  |  December 27, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    I want to go to NYC for Christmas sometime. Reads like a perfect day!

    Reply
  • 7. Bnetfdgsjieoc  |  September 7, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    the cardigans explode youtube queen lover boy jazz dvd top ten

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

