Here comes the Rain Again

December 30, 2007 at 8:21 pm 3 comments

It is raining, YET AGAIN.  I think all of December has been gray with drizzles.  It is quite depressing, really.  I need a little sunshine in my life!

But Chris and I managed to get out to the supermarket.  And we have a party to go to on New Year’s Eve. Our friends Joanne and Bob are having a small get together.  Joanne is cooking dinner for us!   Yum!

This is the first New Year’s in a long time that I am not spending with my mom. But  I will see her soon enough, in three weeks time.

I know I have been promising a book review.  I am reading, I really and truly am!

I just finished Hidden Moon by James Church, a mystery set in contemporary Korea.  It is an “Inspector O” novel.   I highly enjoyed it.  Inspector O has many problems because the Korean government can’t seem to make up its mind on whether or not they want him to solve a bank robbery.   And what witnesses there are, are not forthcoming.  Plus, they have sidled him with a member of the State Security Department, and the agency that he works for can’t stand the SSD.

The plot moved quickly and there was a great deal of action.   Throw in the possible attempted assasination of a Scottish diplomat, and you get quite a story.  This is James Church’s second novel and it makes me want to go back and read the first.   Very enjoyable.

I started a new novel called “Die With Me” by Elena Forbes.   This one is about a serial killer luring suicidal teen girls to their death from the heights of a balcony in a church.  It is a first novel for Ms. Forbes and it is quite good so far, with a good set of characters in the police force that are working the case.  I am only about 100 pages into it, but definately will keep reading.   This book is just up my alley.

And with all the rain that is coming down continuously, it is a good day to stay in and read. And read. And read.  And that is precisely what I plan to do!  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wrapping wrapping wrapping. Happy New Year!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. James Church  |  December 30, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Delighted you liked the book. Happy New Year. Regards, JChurch

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  December 31, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Oh, you bookworm, you!

    Maybe you should work in a Library!! 😉

    P.S. Happy New Year!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  January 1, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    i missed the rain somehow – but i see puddles in the pots out back
    happy new year to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

