Hi-Hi-Bernation

January 10, 2008 at 4:26 pm 5 comments

Hi guys. I have been in reading mode full tilt so I have not been online much this week.   I am so excited about reading adult books I have about 9 checked out to my library card and am barrelling through them.

I read Die With Me by Elena Forbes, loved it!

I read Last Rituals by an Icelandic author, Loved it!

I am reading Fall From Grace by Robert Barnard now, and am liking it very much.  

I have quite a few novels to go.  But in winter I like nothing better than to curl up with a good book.  Or lots of books as the case may be. I am off tomorrow and I plan on finishing the Robert Barnard and starting another.  

I have a couple of “Jim Stringer” novels by Andrew Martin that all take place on the railway system in London in 1903 that look pretty good.   He  has written three so far and I haven’t read any yet, so I will be sure to let you know.

And a customer wants me to read Zig Zag by a Spanish author, Somoza, so I  have that one, too. 

Oh, and a coworker wants me to try Susan Howatch and her church of England series.   I have a long way to go before I can sleep!

Happy reading !

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ahhhhh, Friday Choose to Cruise

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  January 10, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Don’t strain your eyes! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Steve  |  January 10, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    I love to read more at this time of year. But you ought to consider hanging in a coffee shop so you don’t become a recluse 😆

    Reply
  • 3. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    A great author who died this week, George MacDonnald Fraser. He wrote the Flashman series of books, the character culled from the Thomas Hughes novel Tom Brown’s Schooldays. Ive read them and, very funny they are, but his McAusland stories lately combined in the book The Complaete Mc Ausland, twice nearly caused me a hernia. Once with laughter, the other with crying.

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  January 11, 2008 at 3:45 am

    i was about to say something then i read Sidney’s comment – oh no! the flashman series coming to an end! and we never heard what flashy did in the civil war!!

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  January 11, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    My word, you’re just the reading machine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

