The Church of England et. al.

February 1, 2008 at 12:38 pm 4 comments

I know, I know. Haven’t been blogging.   Truth is, I have still been reading.  Not a bad thing, really.   Just keeps me busy.

I have this wonderful coworker and friend named Janet and she has gotten me hooked on Susan Howatch and her Church of England series.  I am reading the second book, Glamorous Powers, now.   I am really enjoying it.   Not only do y0u learn about the structure of the church and meet Abbots and Canons and various other clergy, but you also are transported back in time.  The particular novel I am reading is set in 1940.  It centers around Jonathan Darrow, a Fordite monk that has the ability to see the future in visions.  At the start of the novel he has seen a vision that he believes is urging him to leave the church.  Now he is trying to convince the Abbot-General that this is what he needs to do.   

Some of the novels involve great scandals in the church and this one has not mentioned one yet, but I am assuming that as I read on, more will be revealed.   Ms. Howatch does write a legnthy novel and primarily center around one major character and is really an in depth character study.   It is definately a good read to sink into on a cold winter’s day.

Other than that I have gone to a blast from the past and have been reading some Gothic romances by Victoria Holt and of course my old standby Agatha Christie.   Oh and I am listening to a Fatal Grace by Louise Penny in the car.

Always something going on here in Baltimore!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Been Visitin’ Ah, flu

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  February 1, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I just assumed that you were walking around the streets signing and teasing your hair up! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  February 1, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Doh! I meant “singing”! 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  February 3, 2008 at 2:07 am

    If you want a laugh at the expence of and also at the C of E [being a [nominally] left footer, myself], have a look at 1. ship of fools, 2. mystery worshiper. Being a lapsed Catholic, and therefor not religious nor being a foil for “religiousity”, I reserve the right to poke fun at other faiths.

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  February 4, 2008 at 3:52 am

    church and scandal go together like ham and eggs; jolly good fun reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

