Egads! A Leak!

February 25, 2008 at 4:15 pm 6 comments

Just to let you know, suddenly our water bill jumped up from 30 bucks to almost 1200 bucks. 

There is something amiss.

So, I think I might need a plumber.  Chris thinks that the toilet might be leaking and I am about to agree with him.  I called the water company to try and find out what could be wrong and I think I was connected with someone who was half asleep.   I am not the assertive one so I am not good at getting correct information.

Anywho, the long and the short of it is that they are sending someone out to reread my meter and apparently I should get a plumber, which might cost an arm and a leg and I have to pay that AND the water bill.   I guess it is always something.

So, hopefully I can figure this all out before they decide to shut off the water!  I would hate to have to go to work unshowered.  My coworkers would also hate that, I think.   I should get it all figured out!

Hopefully the start to your week is quite grand!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Curtains Finding Faith

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  February 25, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    If your bill jumped from $30 to $1200 you would think that you would have noticed a “leak” like that!

    Or have they found out about the Esther Williams impersonations that you’ve been doing in your bathtub!! ;P

    Good luck in finding it! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Steve  |  February 26, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Man, that’s a huge increase! @ LOL @ Tiger

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  February 26, 2008 at 3:20 am

    dear me
    what a leak if it is a leak.

    Reply
  • 4. hot toddy  |  February 26, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Oh no! That really sucks 😦

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  February 27, 2008 at 2:01 am

    My mom just had the same problem. She discovered the leak was between the house and the meter by turning off the water to the entire house and looking at the meter. It had a little triangle that indicated water was still flowing even though the house water was turned off.

    At least that would give you an idea of where to start looking.

    Reply
  • 6. Indigo  |  March 1, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Well… After we get the toilet replaced, I guess we’ll know if that’s the problem if the next water bill is lower. Urrrgg….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

