The Daily Grind

March 3, 2008 at 9:42 pm 2 comments

And now, in another twist of fate, I think I am grinding my teeth and clenching my jaw.  My dentist said that some of my teeth are wearing flat and I should try and find out if that is what I am doing.   For the past three days, that is what I am doing.

I am not sure if it is the stress at the thought of clenching my teeth that is causing me to clench them, or if I had been doing it all along.

The downside is, that if I keep it up I will need a bite guard. And I will have to wear it during the day, because that is when I grind.  I am trying to stop myself from grinding, but all that does is make me want to do it more.  Sigh.

And, if I get a bite guard, will I be able to talk at work? Will I look funny?  Will the other librarians laugh at me?  Who knows.

I do know that sometimes one does this as a result of stress, and I don’t think I am under a lot of stress right now. After all, I DO have a therapist and everything seems to be going well.  Maybe it is imagined stress that is causing this phenomenon?

And Chris is supposed to tell me if I am grinding at night, but he is always asleep before I am and so he never seems to notice if that is what I am doing.  He needs to be more observant!

So, until I get this all figured out, I don’t know what will happen.  I do know I don’t have lockjaw (as Chris suggested, bless him!) and that is one thing I can rule out.

Maybe I just need some gum!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What is Mine Dewey and the Kook

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Indigo  |  March 4, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Poor boyfriend! I think you only need to wear a mouth guard while you’re sleeping. You can thank those great Wiccan meditation rituals for letting me fall asleep much faster than you! 🙂

    But I always think you’re the best guy for me!

    Reply
  • 2. Steve  |  March 4, 2008 at 1:27 am

    I grind too. And all I can say is that stress may’ve brought it on, but then it becomes a habit in and of itself. Hmmmm, I never thought of a bite guard. I’ve just kinda accepted it. It’s only my very far back teeth which have been ground down. But it does have positive effects. It strengthens your jaw and cheek muscles, leading to a sculptured look. 😆

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

