Dewey and the Kook

March 4, 2008 at 3:22 pm 8 comments

So, in my new religious ferver I have already hit a snag.

I checked out an inspirational book on Cd so I could listen in my car and be filled with good spirits.  I liked what the author had to say and it made me feel better.  It made me feel somehow connected to something bigger than myself.  So I went on Amazon and looked for other works by the author and I found a devotional Bible will inspirational passages to help me with my reading.

But then I thought, this guy is a Christian, right?  That means that he could also be a fundamentalist kook.   So I did a search on the author’s name and homosexuality, and sure enough, the author is an anti-gay kook.   Now I feel like I was duped. And the sad thing is there is so much I can take from his writing that does make me feel better.

So my question is, do you keep the book and take what you need from it and leave the rest? Or do you write off the person totally and ignore everything else they have to say.  Chris seems to think I should be able to find comfort in some things and leave others but I am not so sure.  It really makes me feel like I have been conned a little.

But on the other hand there is so much to the bible and so many lessons to learn that this is just a small part and very little is written about it.  And I am sure of my sexuality and know that nothing is wrong with it, so this kind of thoughts can’t hurt me.

Sure enough, even in other faiths (like Buddhism) some women can’t be ordained and men are not even supposed to look at or even speak to a woman.   And I can’t tell when I read a book by a Buddhist weather or not I would stand for EVERYTHING they believe in either.  Maybe I need to be more open minded.

But should I be open minded to someone who is closed minded? I mean, if I write them off as a fundamentalist kook am I not also doing what they are doing in the first place, proving that I actually am no better than they are.

I should be thinking with compassion and realize that everybody has gifts even if some people don’t really realize that you should love all people regardless.  Maybe I am answering my own questions.  Who knows?

Anyway, discuss.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Daily Grind Goofball

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  March 4, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    “Sure enough, even in other faiths (like Buddhism) some women can’t be ordained and men are not even supposed to look at or even speak to a woman. ”

    This is only true is certain sects of Buddhism, and the part about speaking to a woman is only for monks. And then again, only in certain sects.

    I have LOTS of issues with the bible, so I can’t objectively give you an answer. I do know that the Christians don’t have a monopoly on spirituality. Do some exploring! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Chris Liits [Sidney Hound]  |  March 4, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Think of it this way…. be open minded, if it wasn’t for religion, we’d be 2000 years more advanced by now. And if you think that’s bad, the muslims only think its 1400 something! they’re 600 odd years behind us!

    Reply
  • 3. Indigo  |  March 4, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    That’s the problem with moden-day funfamentalist Christianity: they are a one-trick pony. They hate gays, they hate gays a lot and very thoroughly. They’re not so good at love, compassion, and empathy.

    One of the seven principles of Wicca is that love between two consenting adults is never a sin, but is sacred.

    Reply
  • 4. Steve  |  March 5, 2008 at 3:17 am

    I can’t offer good feedback. Religion freaks me out!

    Reply
  • 5. Urspo  |  March 5, 2008 at 3:49 am

    actually I do this all the time
    one of my favorite authors (fiction) conveys some nasty stuff in her non-fiction that make me think she would not like me in real life.
    And I love the music of Wagner – but he was a #1 louse.

    I think I don’t shut off another as much as I used to simply because they don’t 100% gel with me.

    Reply
  • 6. Java  |  March 5, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    I say go ahead and glean the useful while ignoring the ignorance. Just because someone is generally full of shit doesn’t mean he/she doesn’t occasionally have something worthwhile to say. For a biblical example I direct you to John 11:49-50. 49Then one of them, named Caiaphas, who was high priest that year, spoke up, “You know nothing at all! 50You do not realize that it is better for you that one man die for the people than that the whole nation perish.”
    The entire chapter gives context. Caiaphas was speaking a great fundamental truth of the gospel, though he thought he was saying “Kill that fool so we can save our asses.”

    Reply
  • 7. Concolor  |  March 6, 2008 at 1:56 am

    What you are describing is called discernment. You are able to take the few kernels of truth and leave the chaff of kookocracy to blow away in the wind. That is one sign of a mature intellect (i.e.: wisdom).

    By all means, if you receive nurturing via some of this guy’s writings, don’t stop! Feed and learn and grow.

    Reply
  • 8. Joan  |  March 6, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Hey – quick bit of info – Shelby Spong is an episc. priest who is NOT a fundamentalist kook – if you can find any of his books – or books by the late William Sloan Coffin, you can’t go wrong.
    So glad to be seeing you around ye olde church:)
    Joan who rings and sings with your beloved.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

