Dewey and History

March 7, 2008 at 2:22 pm 4 comments

If you know me, you will know that I am not much of a history buff.  I don’t really read non-fiction, although I feel that I should read more.

But I love me some period pieces!

And I have discovered the Tudors!  It is a ten part Showtime series with lavish costumes and drama and sex.   It is about the life of Henry the VIII and his marriage to Catherine of Aragon and his dallience with his next wife, Ann Boleyn.   The acting is very well done, the scenery is gorgeous and the plot is fast moving.  Chris sits with me while I watch and I think he is interested even though this is not really his thing.  I have watched the first six episodes so far, and am dreading when I get to ten because I will have to wait for season two.  I am wondering if they will keep filming until they manage to get through all six of Henry’s wives.  That is a long period in time and I am not sure about the legnth of the run of the series.   But if you get a chance, please watch it. It is available on Netflix and at your local library.  (I know, because we have it at ours!)

The other thing I am reading about is Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitane.   This is because I am reading a mystery novel called the Serpent’s Tale by Ariana Franklin (and I love me some Ariana Franklin).  In this case,  poor Rosumund, Henry’s lover, has been poisoned by a death cap mushroom and everybody is quick to blame Eleanor because she really hated Rosumund.   But if Eleanor is blamed, she might turn Henry’s sons against him and cause a civil war and that is to be avoided at all costs.  So, Adelia Aguilar, the heroine of the piece, is called in to solve the crime.  She is an early forensic examiner and a doctor in a time when women really were not allowed to practice medicine, so she must proceed with caution.   And she does!  It is a great addition to the series. But start with the Mistress of the Art of Death for an introduction.  Then move on to Henry II.   I have ordered a book on Eleanor of Aquitane because I have become fascinated by her and I will let you know. It is non fiction, and you KNOW how I feel about non fiction.  But I will have some great info about the English royalty and you have but to ask!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Goofball Calling all Vegans!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  March 7, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Sounds fabulous!!

    Reply
  • 2. Chris Liits [Sidney Hound]  |  March 7, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    The HBO series, the Tudors has in its cast Henry Cavill. Henry is a good friend and this, I hope, will finaly be his big break. He had had small parts in quite a few films but never quite hit the big time. He atributes this to not “fucking for a job” [ie, he won’t take it up the arse to get a part. This, in the past, has meant that he’s been side-lined for some parts he should have gotten.
    Oh, and by the way, it’s not as historicly accurate as HBO say it is. but who cares, it had Henry and JRM!

    Reply
  • 3. Chris Liits [Sidney Hound]  |  March 7, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    By the way, it is a myth that after death, a plank was removed from each coffin, as they lay side by side, so that their dust could mingle. In life Henry had screwed around, in death he wanted to be with Ellenor and was distraught when she died before he did. By all accounts he had ordered this tinkering about with the coffins but, as you can view their coffins in Westminster Abbey, and both coffins are complete [and lead lined] it has turned out to be a piece of late 18 centurey romanticism.

    Reply
  • 4. Ashley  |  March 9, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    I love period films. My favorite is Valmont followed by Dangerous Liaisons. I am not sure which cast I prefer. I canceled HBO, so I haven’t seen the Tudors. I definitely want catch it on DVD.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

