Calling all Vegans!

March 10, 2008 at 11:33 am 7 comments

Just to let you know, if you should come to Baltimore, I have the perfect place for you to eat!

It is called the Yabba Pot.  I had heard about it but had never eaten there until this week.

It was awesome!

They have a selection of five vegan dishes every day, and you have to go and see because the dishes change day by day. I had a wonderful bowl that had seasoned kale,  chick peas and potatoes in a curry sauce and BBQ tofu.  It was delicious. They also have a selection of wraps and then a whole variety of juices that they make in a juicer in the back.  I had a wonderful lime ginger juice.  Just a little sour and I probably would get it again but order a small, I think.  But it was good. I will definately travel back there to eat!

Chris and I have been working on our vegetarianism this past month and it has been going well.  It seems to be much easier now that we are supporting each other and staying away from places like fast food stands that are primarily meat.  We have been going out and getting more Chinese, Indian and even Mexican and have found some good places.   We are not vegan, we still eat eggs and cheese, but we are doing well.  I think I actually feel a bit better and I am sure my cholesterol is going to go down.  And it is not that hard.  I had been veggie for about eight years so I know I can do it again.  Now I have to just dust off one of my cookbooks and I will be ready to go!

The other vegetarian place I found is called One World Cafe, and they are also very close to my house.  They have some vegan dishes and some with cheese so you can get either but they are very good.  I had franks and beans there, the franks being tofu, and cole slaw and fries.  Chris had the mac and cheese and a salad and it looked very good.  I can’t wait to go back and try something else from the menu.  The trouble with One World is the parking.  (i.e. there isn’t any). You have to find something on the street and that is very hard, almost impossible to do.  We tried to go back to get something else but had to go elsewhere.  It was raining and we didn’t want to be a mile away!

Anyway. Happy Monday, Y’all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Dewey and History I think I went on Hiatus

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  March 10, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Sounds delish!

    That was one of the reasons that I added seafood back to my diet. Husbandji was not always very supportive of my diet…. 😦

    Reply
  • 2. Chris Liits [Sidney Hound]  |  March 10, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Are you thinking of doing your hair in dreadlocks or knitting your own trousers? [only joking]

    Reply
  • 3. Indigo  |  March 11, 2008 at 1:54 am

    I think it’s great that you’re helping me with being a vegetarian. I’m glad that you don’t think studying to be a Wiccan is too kooky. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  March 11, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    i wouldn’t mind being vegan – i have been a vegetarian 3x in my life – but vegan is hard to do (at least i find it hard to do)
    having somebody else do/prepare it for me would seal the deal.

    Reply
  • 5. Steve  |  March 15, 2008 at 2:30 am

    What time’s dinner?

    Reply
  • 6. Ashley  |  March 16, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Sounds yummy. Being veg in Austin is super easy as we have similarly good restaurants.

    Reply
  • 7. Coco  |  March 16, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Mmmm…
    Sounds YUMMY!

    Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Tudors : )
    I can’t wait to see Season 2 on DVD…
    we don’t have showtime.

    Hugs & Blessings

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

