Oh, the Madness

March 20, 2008 at 3:37 pm 3 comments

Just to let you know, I am currently reading FOUR books at once.   And three of them are for assigments so I have a deadline.  Sheesh.  To let you know what I am doing:

 I am reading a mystery by Cara Black.  Cara Black writes novels set in Paris, and she is also coming to the library to do a talk.  I am hosting the program and want to read one or two books by her so I can be better informed.  The even is on March 31st so I have about two weeks.  I am almost done with the first one.  I like it!

I have a wonderful committee that I have to read children’s books and the year for that is almost over.  But for the first week in April I have to moderate a discussion group so I have to reread the four books that are in my group.  I am two and a half books done.  One of them is non fiction and is a little slight, so I can read that one quickly.   But read I must.

Then for my personal learning plan at work I wanted to read more non fiction, especially biographies.  When a customer asks me for a good biography I am always at a loss for what to give them.  So, I am trying to read one a month and the month of March is almost over.  And I have over 100 pages to go.  I might have to do double time this weekend.

Of course, on top of all of this madness I am listening to a book in my car.  It is a Phryne Fisher mystery set in Australia in the 1920’s.  It is the first one that I have read in this series (well, listened to) and it is quite good so far.

Oh, and I almost forgot, on April tenth a group is coming to the library and I have to prepare some fiction booktalks!  Egads!  

No wonder my eyes hurt and I have a crick in my neck.  No wonder I am lax in posting!  The job of a librarian is never done!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Spa Easter Wrap-up

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TigerYogiji  |  March 20, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Onward and upwards! You GO Girl!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  March 21, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Oh please, 4 books is a few hours work for you. You could probably read one book and listen to another at the same time and remember them both. In fact, wear headphones with the left side playing one book and the right side playing another book, and read a third. 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Indigo  |  March 21, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    At least you’re good at multitasking! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

