Easter Wrap-up

March 24, 2008 at 11:59 am 5 comments

I hope you all have had a pleasant Easter.  And if you don’t celebrate, I hope you had a pleasant Sunday.  Chris and I went to church, it was a wonderful service, the music was good and the sermon uplifting.   Then we headed off to the Nautilus diner for some Italian cuisine.   It made up a very nice day.  

I am still working on the bookes I mentioned in the last post.  I did finish the novel by Cara Black so I am ready for the author talk next Monday.  I have also started the new novel by Benjamin Black called the Silver Swan.  Benjamin Black is the pen name of Booker prize winning author John Banville.   He decided to write a crime novel and wrote the first called Christine Falls, and luckily for us he has written the follow up with the Silver Swan.   It follows the character of Quirke, a medical examiner who was at the time hard drinking but now on the wagon in the second novel.   In this particular story, Quirke is approached by a former college friend about the death of the college friend’s wife, an apparent suicide.  But the friend does not want a post mortem done and wonders if Quirke can arrange it.  Quirke agrees to try, opting for a visual scan of the body, and then he sees the puncture wound on the arm…

Quite good and very well written for those of you that want your mystery to be a little more literary.  I am not that far along but I am really enjoying it and I think it will definately make my yearly crime picks for my favorites.

Some of my upcoming titles to read are Denise Mina – Slip of the Knife and John Harvey – Gone to Ground. I am sure you will hear all about them.

Incidentally, my dog tried to kill me last night.  We were heading through the laundry room to let her out when she came to a dead stop, causing me to trip over her and land on my side on the laundry room floor against some really hard cornered object.  I probably have a bruise.   It was awful. Chris heard the thump and had to come rescue me. 

But I couldn’t stay mad at Lola for very long! 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Oh, the Madness Leona Lewis (Actually, Duffy)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  March 24, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Just make sure that she’s not the Benficiary on any life insurance policies… 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Steve Rebooted  |  March 24, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Tiger beat me to the punch! I was gonna say the same thing. Something’s sketchy about that Lola! 😆

    Reply
  • 3. Indigo  |  March 25, 2008 at 1:42 am

    What Lola wants, Lola gets, heh heh, so definately make sure she’s NOT on the insurance. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  March 25, 2008 at 4:21 am

    happy easter to you!

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  March 25, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    I hope your bruise isn’t too bad. I bruise easily and know their pain.

    I’m glad you had a nice Easter. *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

