Gypsy

April 20, 2008 at 4:56 pm 5 comments

Hello

I know I have not blogged in a long time.  Unfortunately, it is allergy season and my allergies kicked up big time.    And I was suffering from a lack of things to say.  But today I have something to say, so here I am!

Yesterday Chris and I took the bus to New York to see Gypsy with Patti Lupone.   I had never seen Ms. Lupone live so I was in for a treat.   We had bought the tickets about two months ago, arranged for the bus to take us and they we were! 

We arrived in New York about ten AM and started to wander around a bit.  They were having a street festival on one of the streets so we ate something called an aropas – it is a corn pancake that is stuffed with mozzerella cheese, and got a smoothie.    Then because the weather was good we decided to walk up to central park for a little trek around.   It is so easy to get lost in the park and turned around.  The paths don’t seem to follow any order, and you start walking, thinking you are near one corner of the park and you get completely lost.   Luckily there are a lot of police around to help you get back on track.  Much of the city was closed off due to the visit of the pope.   In fact they were even checking bags before you could even go on to particular streets.  Luckily, we were not too terribly near where the pope was going to be.  Apparently the pope does not like theatre because he was leaving the theatre district alone.

After the trek through the park we stopped at a shop that makes hand made soap and bought a bar. The soap smells marvelous.  I forget the name of the shop but it is on sixth avenue near the park.  We bought a lemon bar.  Very nice.

We were getting hungry and it was getting close to the time of the show so we stopped in for some cheap pizza and then got in the line to get in to see Gypsy.   They actually had programs you could buy so I bought one with some wonderful color pictures of Ms. Lupone.   We were in the orchestra in the center section, near the back but the seats were still good.   And the show was wonderful.  If you get the chance to see it, her, you must do so.  Gypsy is classic American theatre.  Fabulous music and story and they did a wonderful job.  I can’t gush enough about the wonderful job Ms. Lupone did.  I can only imagine what role she will take on next.   After Mama Rose, what can you do?  Did you know Stephen Sondheim wrote the lyrics? 

Anyway, after the show I talked to Chris and he liked the show but did not love it.  He even said that he liked seeing the “Wedding Singer” and “Mamma Mia” better!    He found Gypsy to be depressing.  I mean, it is sort of about Mama Rose and her unfulfilled life, but it is not too depressing, at least I don’t think so.  But there is no accounting for taste.   At least he can say that he saw the show live and that he saw Patti Lupone! Not many people can say that!

The show was rather long. Three hours!  So we had to hurry and get some dinner at Dean and Deluca’s and hopped on the bus for home.  All in all it was a perfect day.

Now I have to decide what I want to see next.  I am leaning toward Cry Baby,  the John Waters film turned into a new musical.   Or maybe Catered Affair.  I will let you know. 

Happy Sunday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What are you doing with that thing? Sideswiped

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Coco  |  April 20, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    The theatre…how exciting!
    I keep hearing how wonderful NYC is…
    my husband and I need to get out there!

    *Glad you had a wonderful time.

    Hugs & Blessings.

    Reply
  • 2. Steve Rebooted  |  April 20, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Nothing beats the New York experience of seeing a show. I’ve never seen Gypsy, but it’s on my list. Good to hear from ya!

    Reply
  • 3. Java  |  April 21, 2008 at 12:27 am

    The whole adventure sounds like a lot of fun. Just taking an exciting day trip like that can spice up life a bit. Glad you liked the show.

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  April 21, 2008 at 2:31 am

    it was good to see you posting again
    Patti is one of the ‘house goddesses’ at our house.
    You are a lucky man to see her live.

    Reply
  • 5. TigerYogiji  |  April 21, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Seeing “La Lupone” live would be one of the highlights of my life! Lucky you! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

