Sideswiped

April 23, 2008 at 12:11 am 4 comments

It was a beautiful day in Baltimore, and as it was so beautiful, I decided to take half a day vacation to enjoy it.

I was heading home in my little Honda Accord when this sedan next to me, not looking where he was going, decided to change lanes, directly INTO the side of my car.

Naturally, the driver’s side mirror was completely knocked off, the side of the car was scraped and I was thrown into the curb causing the tire on the passenger side to blow.   And I had no idea about the passenger side tire, so I wondered why the car was pulling when I limped my way back home. Luckily I was about five minutes from the house.

I am unhurt, but the car will need to be towed.  And as it was not my fault, I have to wait to hear from the perp’s insurance until I can get the car towed and possibly get a rental.    And I did not want to have to deal with this whole mess today.   

And I always am completely unsure how to handle these situations but I kept my cool through it all and got all his information.  I did not call the police so no report was filed and no one bothered to stop to be a witness so I really don’t have a witness either, though he did say it was his fault.

Anyway, if I get my insurance to take care of it, there is a 500 dollar deductable that they would try and get back but there is no guarantee that they would so I think I should let his insurance cover the whole thing.

I am waiting to hear from them, hopefully I will know something tomorrow.

Always entertaining, my life is!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Gypsy Waiting

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  April 23, 2008 at 2:39 am

    I am glad you say you are unhurt… tell us how you feel tomorrow… sometimes it takes a night for all the muscle pain to really hit you.

    I am sorry Doug. Car wrecks are such a pain in the )$#)(*$#@!

    Reply
  • 2. Steve Rebooted  |  April 23, 2008 at 3:52 am

    I’m glad you’re alright. Things like this are such a pain. I’ve always been told to call the police, no matter how friendly the sitaution is…

    Reply
  • 3. Java  |  April 23, 2008 at 4:55 am

    So thankful that you are not injured! What a rotten way to spend a beautiful day. I hope everything works out alright. And I’m glad you posted about it. I was concerned and Chris wasn’t giving much info.

    Reply
  • 4. Debbi  |  April 23, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Glad to hear you’re alright. I never know what to do in those times either. I would have called the police though. Let them sort it out.

    Have a peaceful night.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

