Waiting

April 23, 2008 at 4:22 pm 5 comments

I am waiting for the Tow Truck to come and carry Agatha off to her temporary home in order for her to get fixed.

Apparently, they are unable to contact the man who hit me, so in order to expediate matters I am going through my own insurance and paying the deductable.

Which means, my plans to get tickets for the next Broadway show I want to see has been put on hold.

But I need my car.  It gets me to work, so I must get her fixed. If I lived close to work I would ditch my car completely and walk.  I really hate driving.  And I worry about what other people are doing (and rightfully so!)  And now I have to get a rental car and worry in triplicate becaue I will be driving around in a car that I don’t even own.   

I hope Agatha can get better.  She is a 2001 but she is a Honda and has served me well for many years.  I don’t want to get rid of her just yet.   She has life in her, God Damnit!

Now that I am swearing on the blog, it will not be long before I crave a martini and a cigarette.  Just you wait.  But I would have to get one of those long cigarette holders like they do in the old movies.  And I probably wouldn’t inhale, just puff drastically.    Now, the Martini I would drink and after several I would start slurring my words and probably become full of vitriol and take it out on rather nice people. 

God Damnit I want to be Elizabeth Taylor in “who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf!”   “I wear the pants in this family because somebody has to!”

Maybe I jut need a percoset.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sideswiped Wishbone

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TigerYogiji  |  April 23, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I’m just glad that you’re safe and sound! Sending prayers and good thoughts your way! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Indigo  |  April 23, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    i’m just glad it wasn’t some 6,500 pound SUV that hit you. I’m so glad your weren’t hurt. cars are replcable, but there’s only one Doug for me. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Bunny Lynn  |  April 24, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Hey there Dougy Darlin’,

    Sorry to hear about you accident. There ain’t much then a hit an’ run driver an’ thats the truth. My ol’ truck has been hit so many times by dumb-ass folks that i’ve lost count.

    Huggs, etc…

    Reply
  • 4. Coco  |  April 25, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    I’m happy to hear that you are alright!!
    Cars…we’ll, yes, we need them,
    but they are replaceable.
    Hopefully, Agatha will be OK…

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Hugs & Blessings.

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  April 26, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    For so much trouble you’re going through, you seem to have a great sense of humor about it. I hope things work out and they’re able to find the guy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

