Wishbone

April 24, 2008 at 11:00 am 5 comments

My coworker and I got into a discussion last night.  She needed to know the basic plot of the Count of Monte Christo.   I was able to give it to her.

And then I realized, it was NOT because I had read the novel  (I hadn’t).   It was because I used to watch that old PBS series called Wishbone, the star of the clip above.

Do you remember Wishbone?  He was a jack russell terrier who lived with a family and the kids kept getting into moral dilemmas.   Wishbone always came to the rescue by teaching them a lesson from a classic novel.  Then we would get to see the actual classic novel acted out, with Wishbone as one of the main characters.

Sure, it was a bit cheesy but I really enjoyed them.  Wishbone actually did a version of Northanger Abbey, and Romeo and Juliet, and the Adventures of Tom Sawyer, among others.  And of course he did the Count of Monte Christo, which is why I can remember the plot.

Incindentally, in the age that all TV series are now coming out on DVD for our pleasure, so far, Wishbone has not.  I wonder if there is someone I can write to?  The “save Wishbone” campaign?

I think Wishbone even had a series of books that we carried at the library.

Nothing wonderful can ever stay! I hope you enjoy the clip, at least.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Waiting Broadway

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urspo  |  April 24, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    tut tut
    read the count of monte crisco some day
    it is a thumping good read

    Reply
  • 2. TigerYogiji  |  April 24, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    I remember Wishbone too! I think that some PBS stations still carry it!

    And I think that you’re wrong about the DVDs as Netflix is carrying at least two of the episodes on their site! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Debbi  |  April 25, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    I loved that show. It was cute. My kids watched it for awhile.

    Reply
  • 4. Java  |  April 26, 2008 at 5:49 am

    I learned much from Wishbone, as did my children. Magic School Bus is very informative. My oldest scored very well on her first standardized test (Science part) because of what she’d learned on Magic School Bus.
    Do you know the preamble to the Constitution? Can you recite it without singing it? School House Rock is the reason I know it. I understand how a bill goes through the legislative process to become a law thanks to School House Rock, too.
    I love alternative education!

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  April 26, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Hmm…I missed Wishbone entirely. Maybe because I’m a cat person and they’d never get a cat to wear all those outfits.

    And they do have the DVD’s. Check out Amazon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

