Broadway

April 26, 2008 at 10:25 pm 5 comments

Well, the time has come down to settle in on the next show that I need to get tickets for.

Unfortunately, with the hubbub over the car I may have to put it off for a few weeks but I am itching to get the ball rolling and get tickets for June.   I am trying to go every other month and I have a long list of shows still to see.

I really think the winner for June might be Young Frankenstein.    I have an online deal that will get me seats for eighty bucks a piece and that is pretty good, and I can get them for a Saturday matinee.   Young Frankenstein isn’t high on my list of things to see  (I really didn’t care that much for the Producers) but it has a good cast  (Roger Bart, Sutton Foster, Andrea Martin)  and I bought the soundtrack and it certainly is pretty darn silly.   Well, a little more than silly really.   Almost so silly it becomes inane.   But some of the songs are humorous and I am sure when you throw in the performance the songs probably mean that much more.  And I would want to see the original cast if I saw it.   It would be better to see the people that originated the roles.   So, I think that might be the next show I see.   And some of the songs do get stuck in  your head.  Like the song about rolling in the hay.    We’ll see.

I also want to see Cry Baby, a Catered Affair and Billy Elliot  and of course the Little Mermaid (that Chris has forbidden me to get tickets for).   I also want to see August : Osage County but because it is about a severely dysfunctional family, Chris would rather not see that one, either.  Probably too tense for him.   We can do light hearted and silly.   And it doesn’t get more madcap than Young Frankenstein.

But why am I blogging about this now? We are not going until June 28th!

Oh, the weather is getting hotter and hotter now.   I made the mistake of wearing long sleeves to work and boy did I regret it.   Now I am hot and uncomfortable.   I hate when it turns to summer.

Oh, and I got a rental. A little black Chevy Cobalt and I really like it.  Maybe they will tell me Agatha can’t be fixed and I can get one for real!   That would be nice!

But then I really wouldnt get to new york and we can’t have that, can we?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wishbone laptop woes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Indigo  |  April 27, 2008 at 2:51 am

    Yup… I like the little Cobalt too! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  April 27, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Anticipation is sometimes the best part. I bet Young Frankenstein is fantastic on stage.

    Reply
  • 3. Joan  |  April 28, 2008 at 3:47 am

    Hi ! Thanks for letting me hitch a short ride with you guys after church today. That car really is awesome! Heck of a way to find out about it, though!
    Take care and see you soon,
    Joan

    Reply
  • 4. Java  |  April 28, 2008 at 3:49 am

    Why not Little Mermaid?

    Reply
  • 5. TigerYogiji  |  April 28, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Perish the thought!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

