laptop woes

April 29, 2008 at 11:15 pm 6 comments

Just to let y’all know, I am going to keep posting until my laptop dies.

But if suddenly I disappear from the interweb, you will know it finally happened. My laptop had bid a fond farewell, and I really can’t afford another one right now.

But it seems to be slugging along so I can at least make a post today.

I am not really sure what is wrong with it. It is over three years old and for a computer that is ancient. And I do use it every day, so much so that the w and s keys are starting to stick. And it takes forever to boot up and twice as long to find and load a web page even though I have dsl and the internet should be fast. Sometimes I sit and wait and wait and wait and it gets frustrating. The new trick that it just started to do was that I was surfing around and goofing off on the internet for a while, and then all of a sudden it just loses its net connection and I can’t load any page at all. Usually at this time I have to reboot the machine to get it to connect again and it takes so long to reboot, I just let it be. Egads.

So I have something new on my Christmas list for next year.

So far, the week has been going swimmingly. Not much has been happening. We have been super busy at work and I am not quite sure why but it makes the days go really quickly. I have been watching season ten of Midsomer Murders and it is a little goofier than other seasons but it is still pretty good. I really love that show!

and tonight I am really tired because I didn’t seem to sleep well at all last night. I drank a little bit of iced tea at dinner but not enough that I should not be able to sleep but that is exactly what happened. So, I feel a little sluggish at the moment and it is amazing that I can still string words together into some sort of sense.

So, I am going to go now and watch something. See you later!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Broadway Good News!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  April 30, 2008 at 1:46 am

    Here’s hoping your laptop survives until Christmas.

    Have you tried an anti-spyware program? If you’re having slow internet performance, perhaps there’s other things taking up your bandwidth. I use Webroot Spysweeper.

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  April 30, 2008 at 5:12 am

    that would be very sad to see you disappear like that.
    I hope that doesn’t happen.

    Reply
  • 3. Steve Rebooted  |  April 30, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Sure! Likely excuse on possibly disappearing 😛

    Reply
  • 4. TigerYogiji  |  April 30, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    I don’t know as I could wait till Christmas to see you blogging again! Why not skip a few Broadway shows, save your money and watch for some bargains at Best Buy? 😦

    Reply
  • 5. Bunny Lynn  |  April 30, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Computers ain’t noyhin’ but a real pain in the ass (excuse my French). Good luck with yours Darlin’…

    Huggs, etc…

    Reply
  • 6. Indigo  |  May 3, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Your laptop’s in about as good a shape as my car.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

