The Bite

May 23, 2008 at 6:44 pm 7 comments

Today I needed a quick lunch so I headed over to Field’s Pharmacy in order to get a tuna salad on toast.

Field’s is just like stepping back into the 1950’s.  And looking around at the customers, you can almost imagine most of them were probably sitting at the counters circa 1948, drinking sweet tea and chatting. 

Field’s still has a lunch counter and a little seating area with these chairs with mesh backs that look as ancient as the pharmacy iteself.  It has a little salad bar, daily specials, wonderful milkshakes and  (of course)  tuna salad and egg salad on toast.   Tomato costs extra.

When you enter the  back of the pharmacy you are treated to a wonderful little room full of make-up counters.  I am sure they would give you a makeover if you asked nicely.   You can find umbrellas, handbags and other assorted cosmetic gifts.   You can then move over to the great big Hello Kitty display, where you can find almost anything that has the pink kitty’s face plastered on it.   Then there is a standing, turning display wiht games for kids to play in the car.   And I haven’t even begun to tell you about the room full of greeting cards and other gifts that are great for a last minute shower present or a gift for a coworker that is transferring to another branch.

Today when I went to pick up my sandwich, they were even playing an instrumental version of “Moon River” that quite made me want to sing along.

At the lunch counter, several elderly women were dining alone, with their tea and their matzo ball soup and salad and it really made me want to sit down for a spell and join them to find out if all was well with the grandkids.  it seemed a shame to be dining by yourself on such a wonderfully sunny day.

So maybe when I have more time, I will pull out the pipe, the fedora and the cardigan and I will join my friends at Fields.  

But for now, I will take my tuna salad an go. I am probably too young for this anyway!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mischief Fratellis!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  May 23, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    It’s nice to know that there are places like that left in the world! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  May 26, 2008 at 4:24 am

    I find it a comfot to know such places exist.

    Reply
  • 3. Ashley  |  May 27, 2008 at 3:44 am

    I want to go eat at Fields!!

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. Sparky  |  May 27, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Is everything in black and white?

    Reply
  • 5. Fatalist  |  June 1, 2008 at 8:45 am

    That sounds like an amazing timewarp!
    Sure beats the crowds queuing at Subway or Pet a Manger!
    Not that I ever use them. Call me old fashioned but I like a chesse sandwich. But have you ever tried to buy one?
    Chees & tomato; cheese & pickle; cheese and onion; cheese & salad…Grrr!!!

    I just want a plain cheese sandwich! Is there anywhere that still sells them? Still it’s cheaper to pop into a supermarket and buy a few rolls and a packet of slalami, or something, so that’s what I do. so I don’t know what I’m complaining about really…

    Reply
  • 6. overcloud  |  June 4, 2008 at 1:42 am

    Overcloud says : I absolutely agree with this !

    Reply
  • 7. Fruitfully  |  June 19, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Fruitfully!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

