Red Alert! And Watermelons.

June 6, 2008 at 4:11 pm 4 comments

First, the watermelons.

I just read this article today that a rare black Japanese watermelon sold in a department store for $6,100.   That is pretty pricey for a watermelon.

And how do you know if it is really ripe and good tasting? You can’t sample the watermelon, obviously, so you are going on blind faith.  I really do hope the watermelon turns out to be good.   It had a hefty price tag!

This got me on a mad goodle search, looking for “japanese watermelons”. You would think I had better things to do.  But I did learn that you can find a square watermelon that sells for $83.00, $100.00 or $200.00  depending on the site.  They also have managed to grow a watermelon with a funny face.

And, if you happen to be growing cucumbers, if you take them when they are a baby and put them into a star or heart shaped mold, you get a fancy cucumber.    Amazing.

Personally, I think I am just going to the local Giant and buy me a regular, everyday watermelon.  Preferably seedless.  I will let you know how it is.

RED ALERT.

It seems that the heat and the humidity is going to be rather high in Baltimore this weekend,  causing a red alert and opening up the cooling centers in the city.  If my little window unit cannot keep up, you may find me in a cooling center, hopefully not sitting next to somebody that is smelly.  But it is Baltimore city, so you never know.

As you all have heard me whining last summer, all that I have are two window units and they are now about five years old. They are managing to keep the rooms that they are in cool, but that is about it.   So me, Chris, the dog and both cats all have to find a place to sit in a small room (even on the floor if need be) to keep cool.

I am really not sure how my cat Scrunchy, who is a rather hairy Himalayan, manages to keep his cool.  He does tend to sleep a lot.  And he does stay in shady areas.  Incidentally, when we have the bedroom air on at night, he is nowhere to be found.  Maybe he likes the heat?  I have no idea.

So, plans for today is to go out and get me a watermelon.  Then carve it up in easy to eat pieces and store it in the fridge for the heat of tomorrow.

Will try to post if I am not dead.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New Music Holy Javelina

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  June 6, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I thought that you were going to post about sturgeon?

    Keep cool you two! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  June 7, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    the watermelons was sad to hear.
    i used to grow melons; home grown melons are like homegrown tomatoes- they are so much better than the nasty store bought versions – and i pay 2 dollars for the seed!

    Reply
  • 3. Steve Rebooted  |  June 8, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Yeah, D. and I may’ve picked the wrong time to go camping. They say it’s like 105 with the heat index. And will be at least 85 at midnight. That’s weird weather for early June. Oh, and my tomatoes are already almost ripe!

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  June 10, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Square watermelons? My only question is: why?

    Stay cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

