New Wheels

June 19, 2008 at 10:17 pm 5 comments

I almost forgot to tell you about the new addition to our little family.

My new car:  The Scion XD.

Chris had a Hybrid Civic, and he had driven that puppy for 137,000 miles because his previous job was in sales management and he had to travel for work.  So it had some high mileage.  When the hybrid battery blew we knew it was time for a new car because replacing the battery would be expensive.  As his car was newer,  it was actually my turn to get the new car!  Yay!   I have a 2001 Honda Civic, and it has low mileage because I hate to drive, so it is still in great shape.  I get a new car!

The reason I went to Toyota was because I wanted to look at the Yaris and the Corrolla.   I like the reviews on Toyotas and Hondas and so I wanted to stick with one of those, and these were cars in my price range.

I test drove a Yaris and it was a little small for me, I am a big guy and I needed something roomier.  Also the panels were in the center of the car, not behind the steering wheel and I didn’t like that.   When I test drove the Corrolla, it was OK. Roomy, just a little boring.  I wanted something to look a little bit zippier.  Then I saw the Scion XD and I was in love.  I took a test drive, the price was right, and I came home with my baby.

It is a great little car. I got it in a sparkly dark blue and it has a great little hatch that hold groceries. I got a little cargo net to keep them from rolling around.    It has a roomy back seat for a small car and the people that have sat back there said there was enough room.  And I can fold the seats down if I need more space, but as I really don’t haul anything that doesn’t seem to be a problem.

I did add on an overhead compartment and I am not sure why. It is in the center of the car and I hit my head on it every time I climb in.  And it really doesn’t hold all that much.  But I can fit four CD’s in it, and sunglasses and Chris’s wallet when he rides with me and has no pockets.  So I guess it is all good.   Anyway.  I really do like the car. It drives really well and has some great steering that is really smooth.

The only downside is that it has a small gas tank so you have to fill it up more often.  When I go visit my mom, I used to be able to get up there on one tank.  Now, not so much.  But it is OK.

I named my car Sparky the Mario Kart.  I was probably subconsiously thinking about Dr. Sparky when I named it and how much I missed him.  I really didn’t consciously think about it, but Sparky seemed right.  And then, right after that, the REAL Dr. Sparky emerged again and I was so happy!   So, I have a little Sparky in the family.

I think I already talked about the Mario Kart part of the story.   Maybe I already told you about my new car?  Am I having Dementia?   If I start wearing green polyester and humming Paul Anka songs, will somebody tell me?  Please?

at least now you get a picture.  I am on a roll!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What the… The Bizarre “this might be only funny to librarians, but here goes” post.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Indigo  |  June 20, 2008 at 1:21 am

    I’m really glad you like the car 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Vanyel  |  June 20, 2008 at 4:44 am

    Long as you don’t sing Diana… now if you did the dirty version of My Way… giggle…. then I wouldn’t nudge you for that 🙂

    Hey! Does the new veeeeee-hickle have A/C??

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  June 20, 2008 at 4:56 am

    new car! what fun!

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogiji  |  June 20, 2008 at 11:45 am

    ” If I start wearing green polyester and humming Paul Anka songs, will somebody tell me?”

    But Daaaaahling! I thought that you were doing that already!!! ;P

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  June 20, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Very cute! I love the Scion. Though I’ve never named a car, somehow Sparky the Mario Kart seems to suit him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

