Nostalgia and the movie that wasn’t

June 23, 2008 at 6:57 pm 4 comments

I have been on a real 80’s kick this past week. I have been listening to 80’s tunes. I have been watching 80’s  movies.  I have even watched “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” because a certain Dr. Sparky recently chatted about it.  But that is another story all together.

What I did watch last night was one I had not seen in a long time.  I even had the soundtrack on LP.   I can still remember the hooplah when the film made its debut.   Everybody in town was excited to see it.

It was Flashdance

The reason that I remember Flashdance so well was because I grew up in the burbs of Pittsburgh.  And Flashdance was filmed in Pittsburgh.  We didn’t get that many movies filmed in the city at the time, so this was a very big deal.  People would drive to the city to catch sight of Jennifer Beals.   Everybody wanted to cheer for the Altoona girl made good.  Everybody wanted to go to the theatre and ogle at the scences set in the Carnegie Museum of Natural History.

And watching the film again at 42,  I can appreciate the scenes of Pittsburgh.   They are really filmed quite nicely and I can remember parts of the city by watching the film.   But nice scenery does not a movie make.

I realized, watching the film now, that it really HAS NO PLOT.

None.  Nada. Nothing.

You get this chick who is a welder by day and dances in a bar at night.  She wants to join a ballet company and fills out the application.  She is afraid to turn it in. She finally does so. She auditions. She wins. End of story.

There is some fill in scenes about her friend who is an ice skater who tries out for an ice show and fails, only to become a stripper.  There are a few scenes with her divorced boyfriend, who she thinks is two timing her but is really only going out with his ex-wife.  There is the friend who is a comedian who tells ghastly horrible ethnic jokes.  And there is the creep at the bar that likes to feel her up.

But none of these stories lead anywhere.  You never really get to know any of the characters.  There are many scenes without dialog at all, just killing time to make the movie an hour and a half long.   Oh, and the pretty shots of Pittsburgh really do help to pass the time.

And then, finally, there are some MTV pop video numbers when Jennifer Beals and her stunt double dance at the blue collar bar.  This was mainly to sell the soundtrack which I bought.  And they were totally 80’s to the max.  80’s tunes, 80’s moves, 80’s hair.    And they brought the song “maniac” to the foreground, and made it a hit.

And as I am watching it now, I could sense the time going by. Time that I could never get back.   And I fired up the laptop, and kept the movie rolling as I read blogs, looked at my email, and played youtube videos.  

And now I realize just how bad the movie really was.  Well, not bad. It was filmed well. And the dancing was good. And I still like the music, somewhat. But it really needed a script.  It needed a plot. It needed something.

I wonder, if I watch “Footloose” again, will the same thing happen.  Or will it be another film that was good at the time but loses it in age. 

Ah well.  You live and you learn.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sunday Movie Memories… I feel shitty

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Rebooted  |  June 24, 2008 at 2:05 am

    I never saw that movie cuz it was rated R and I wasn’t old enough. By the time I was old enough, I’d lost interest 😛

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  June 24, 2008 at 4:32 am

    there wasn’t much point to footloose if I recall.

    Reply
  • 3. Indigo  |  June 24, 2008 at 10:00 am

    flashdance was awfu!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogiji  |  June 24, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Footloose and Flashdance both sucked big time (and not in the good way…) 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

