Before you ask, yes, it is.

June 26, 2008 at 2:01 pm 5 comments

I am going out on a limb here, and am going to post, once again, a book related entry.

I have not been keeping statistics, but I think my book related entries get the least amounts of comments, and I think only on one occasion did someone actually go out and read the book I suggested.

But I will soldier on, because that is what I do.  And I have a doozy for you.

And, to further amaze you, it is NON-FICTION.   Yes.  Dewey is reading a work of non-fiction.  Isn’t that amazing?

Of course, it does fall into the “true crime” category, and therefore is understandably about murder.  But if any of you have been paying attention, I seem to be all about murder.  But this time it is true!

I am reading Savage Grace: The True Story of Fatal Relations in a Rich and Famous American Family by Natalie Robins and Steven Aronson.

It is the story of Barbara Baekeland and her son Antony.   The Baekland line is famous because in the late 1900’s, the grandfather Leon Baekeland invented Bakelite.  Bakelite is a plastic type material that became wildly popular in the 30’s and 40’s and was turned into many things, including jewelry and radios.

The grandson, Brooks Baekeland was a terribly handsome man and married a woman named Barbara who became quite a jet setter.  They had apartments in New York, London and Spain.  

They only had one son, Antony, and the relationship between Barbara and Antony seemed to be very strange.  Antony was gay but that fact seemed to destroy the mother and the rumour is that it caused the mother to enter into an incestuous relationship with the son.   Creepy.

Well, one day in the early seventies, something in the son snapped and he stapped his mother with a kitchen knife.  He was sentenced at the Old Bailey in London and at the point that I am now in the book, he is a Broadmoor hospital, a psychiatric clinic for criminals.

The book is really interesting.  It is told through gathered interviews and letters,  but seperated in such a way that the story just flows.   You get a peek into the rich and powerful lifestyle and realize that money does not become the cure all for everything.

You also learn a lot about Bakelite itself, its discovery and its uses.   

I am only about 75 pages in, but I am fascinated.   It really is an engrossing read.

The book was written in 1985 but has been reprinted because of a recent movie starring Julieanne Moore.

So, if you are too lazy to read the book, see the movie!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Feeling Better Please Don’t Kill Donna Noble

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. javabear  |  June 26, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I thought that picture looked like Julieanne Moore! Don’t recognize the other bloke, though.

    You and your murder stories! This actually looks like a good book, though I probably won’t read it because I have too many other books that I don’t have time to read. These days I spend too much time online and not enough time reading!

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  June 26, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Eew! Although I ADORE Bakelite! 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Coco  |  June 26, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    I don’t read crime/murder books…sorry!
    But I do see them!! (movies!!)
    I’ve been thinking about seeing the movie Savage Grace…
    and now I will.
    Thank you for the “back” story!! : )

    by the way-
    my friends LOVED the video on Lily’s Purple Plastic Purse!!
    yes, we’re ALL teachers : )

    Sounds like you’re feeling MUCH better…good!

    Hugs & Blessings

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. Sparky  |  June 27, 2008 at 1:50 am

    I always read your book posts and I hope I am the person you are referring to when you say someone read one.

    And I will read this. Anything associated with Julianne Moore gets my vote. Love her!

    Reply
  • 5. incestuous mother with son  |  July 7, 2008 at 8:05 am

    […] get the least amounts of comments, and I think only on one occasion did someone actually go ohttps://deweydjb.wordpress.com/2008/06/26/before-you-ask-yes-it-is/Grace with ungraceful subject Denver PostReading “Savage Grace” is like coming upon the aftermath of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

