Ugh

July 11, 2008 at 11:14 am 4 comments

Friday morning and I am exhausted.

Not to talk too much about work but there have been so many people in the library this week it is making my head spin.  I have never seen so many people! I am not sure where they are all coming from.  So, I leave work mentally exhausted and I want to post but can’t seem to string any words together.

So I am posting first thing this morning and hopefully I will make sense.  One more day and then the weekend!

We had fun doing the yard sale.  If you want to know one thing about my clan, we are pack rats.  I am just as bad, so I really don’t have room to talk, but my sister and mom are also collectors.  My sister has enough Christmas decorations to decorate three houses.   My mother’s basement is piled with boxes, and she has rented a storage shed to help with the overflow.  I really want her to get rid of the storage shed because it costs her 100 bucks a month.    I hope to help her more with that the next time I visit.

My sister started putting things aside to sell at the yard sale.  I went down in the basement and helped her.  Some things she refused to get rid of, but we amassed a nice sized pile of things to sell.  The trick to a yard sale is price low and be willing to negotiate.    We used a dot system with one color dot being 50 cents, one color $1.00 and so on.  It worked well and we didn’t have to write prices on anything.  

I got up at six on the morning of the sale.  I headed out to the shed to get the card tables and had them set up by seven.  By eight I had everything out and arranged.    And people started arriving at eight!  The Saturday after July 4 is the big yard sale day in Edinboro, so everybody is ready for it.  We sold some of the larger items right off the bat.

Then we were steady up til about twelve when it slowed down.  By 12:30 we had finished and I packed the leftovers to take to Salvation Army.  But we made over 80 dollars and my mom and sister gave me 30 because of my help organize and lugging things all around!  Yay for me!

I also scored a stuffed penguin that my sister was going to sell but it was just too cute.  It is made out of a knit material and is wearing a scarf and a little hat.  I know that the last thing I need is another stuffed animal, but I didn’t have to buy this one, so it must be OK.  Chris didn’t seem to mind at any rate. Probably because it was free.

After the sale we all took naps and then went out to a nice Italian restaurant for dinner.   They had some really good food.  I had some penne pasta with a white clam sauce.  It was tasty.  And the prices were good there, not too expensive.   We went with my mom’s cousin and his wife.  They are always good company.

Well, I think I need to start getting ready for work.  Hope everyone is having a lovely week!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Back, but tired. 15 MEME

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  July 11, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I hope that you have a good day!

    Who knows? Maybe someone will come in looking for Pet Shop Boys material, and you’ll be all set! ;P

    Reply
  • 2. Dr. Sparky  |  July 11, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Is it sad that I really like yard sales?

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  July 12, 2008 at 4:09 am

    yard sales are fascinting cultural events
    we are thinking of having our first yard sale; I hope it goes well.

    Reply
  • 4. javabear  |  July 12, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Around here if we advertise a yard sale as starting at 8:00, people start showing up at 6, or maybe 7 if we’re lucky. Glad you had a successful one!

    I’m laughing at you just a little bit about getting another stuffed animal, though. Not laughing too much, because I have no room to do so myself. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

