Any Spare Ectoplasm?

July 18, 2008 at 9:06 am 10 comments

I want to send out a plea for any ghosts out there that need a new home.

I am taking applications.

I am in need of a haunting.

You would have to live on the third floor of a row house in my bedroom.   You must not be a poltergeist, I really don’t want a lot of banging or objects flying around the room.

I don’t mind if you appear every now and then just to say hello.  I would really like it if you could be Victorian, but at this point I will take anything that comes my way.

There is only one requirement that I am not sure if you can fulfill.

I watch movies.  And in the movies when you go to a haunted house, characters enter certain rooms and the room develops a certain chill.   Even in the middle of summer.

The truth is, I need you to reduce the temperature in my bedroom.  The AC does not cut it when the day outside is 97 degrees.

So I am requesting supernatural help.     I don’t mind if you continue to live with me and make it chilly in the winter. I can always put on Flannel pajamas and an extra blanket.

But I do need to to cool the room considerably in the summer. 

At this point, I also would not care if the pets became frightened and avoided the room.  The last thing I want on a 97 degree day is a hot cat lying on my chest.

I will be home this weekend and you can drop by with your qualifications.

I would be happy to talk to you.

We all need a good ghost every now and then!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

15 MEME Summer Fun

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr. Sparky  |  July 18, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Oh, how I feel your pain!

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  July 18, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    You could always move up North, you know.

    We have libraries and criminal processing offices up here too…

    Reply
  • 3. Coco  |  July 18, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Good luck with the applicants!!
    It would be nice if they did housework, too ; )

    Hugs & Blessings

    Reply
  • 4. Indigo  |  July 19, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Tht is hillarious!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Coco  |  July 20, 2008 at 1:22 am

    come on over to my blog…
    i have a ME mosaic ; )

    hugs & blessings

    Reply
  • 6. javabear  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:17 am

    What a stellar idea, Dewey! I’d never have thought of bringing in a haunting spirit. Um, good luck with that.
    With as many different “spirits” as live in that house now, would you have room for one more?
    I also agree with TigerY. Just move north. It’s what I’m trying to do. I have discovered, thanks to you and Indigo, that Baltimore is not far enough north to meet my needs.

    Reply
  • 7. Steve Rebooted  |  July 21, 2008 at 2:00 am

    I hear ya, it’s been hot as shit!

    Reply
  • 8. urspo  |  July 22, 2008 at 4:09 am

    alas ghosts only stick around when they feel they are still stuck here because something needs to be said/cleared up. so you basically have a person ‘stuck in the past’ lurking around. and they are no fun!

    Reply
  • 9. Debbi  |  July 22, 2008 at 5:33 am

    We’ve had ghosts in every house we’ve ever lived in. Some in fact didn’t have ghosts when we moved in…but did when we left. Go figure. But, sorry to say, even with ghosts always under foot, there was nary a cold spot. Nope not a one. We’ve had slamming cabinet doors. They move things, and have been known to look into windows, scaring the shit out of me. But, no cold spots.

    I could mentione that there is a vacation home lin the east looking for a few good ghosts though. If you’d like me too. 😉

    Reply
  • 10. fuguestateknits  |  July 24, 2008 at 2:58 am

    I’d love to haunt your bedroom, but I hear there’s too much activity there already and even us ghosts have rules about that sort of thing.
    Just kidding!
    Joan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

