Summer Fun

July 22, 2008 at 10:53 am 5 comments

Well, not really.

It has been really hot as of late.  When it gets this hot, I have trouble thinking, moving, and being anything other than grumpy.  It is harder for me to post, because I can’t begin to string any words together.  I am more lethargic at work, even though we have air conditioning there.   It is almost better to be at work.  I can be cool there.

I have trouble with my concentration.  This really becomes a problem as I really enjoy reading but that simple pleasure is taken from me.   I stare at the page and the words seem to swim and I can’t seem to get through a paragraph.   Luckily summer is only so long and soon it will be autumn again.

I have started a book that I am enjoying called “Puccini’s Ghosts”  by Morag Joss, a Scottish author that I recently discovered and really like.  I am not very far along, but it has something to do with Turnandot, it is set in the 60’s  in a small town and there is a woman who fancies herself as an opera singer and her family and I am not sure where it is headed but the characterization is pretty good so far and it makes me want to read more.   Hopefully this weekend I will be able to read a bit more.

Chris and I are headed to NYC on Saturday to see a Catered Affair and the day should be good although it forecasts some thunder showers.    Maybe I can read on the bus ride up, if I don’t doze.

Anyway.  That is all I have for now! Stay cool!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Any Spare Ectoplasm? Computer Fun!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Rebooted  |  July 22, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Yeah, the air’s been thick cuz of the mugginess. It’s driving me crazy too. Checked the news and it will only be in the high 80’s tomorrow. So just one more day of this crap. Have fun in NYC.

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  July 22, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    I still say that you two need to move up North!

    Have fun at “A Catered Affair”. I had read that it won’t be playing that much longer…

    Reply
  • 3. Indigo  |  July 23, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Hopefully it will not be hot as the blazes in NYC. I hope we don’t see too many CHUDs either!

    Reply
  • 4. javabear  |  July 23, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I know what you mean. I’m only half alive when it’s that hot. Hope the weather cools down some so you aren’t so uncomfortable.
    Enjoy the shew, daahling. And avoid the CHUDs. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. fuguestateknits  |  July 24, 2008 at 2:57 am

    You’re not kiddin! I am always so glad to see autumn arrive – with promises of halloween, thanksgiving and christmas – and choir and bell choir and all that fun stuff!
    Heat schmeat! I am not a summer person either!
    Hope you enjoy the show! Sounds like it’ll be fun:)
    ANd if you ever want to knit, let me know, LOL!
    Joan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

