The Bucket Woman

July 29, 2008 at 11:03 am 3 comments

Chris and I have been using the Netflix  “watch it now” feature as of late.

There are some heinous films out there on watch it now. They have managed to collect some one and two star movies that are terrible.  I don’t know where they get them.  We have watched some real dogs.

One thing that we are enjoying however, is “Keeping Up Appearances” with Patricia Routledge as Hyacinth Bucket (pronounced “bouquet”) and her quest to impress all her neighbors with her candlelight suppers.

It is a British comedy that was made in  the 1990’s and is terribly funny.  And you can watch all the episodes on watch it now.  I think that there are around 43 in total.  I am working my way through them.  I have about an hour before I go to work so I think I can watch at least one and maybe two before I head for work.

I remember watching various episodes of the series but have never seen the entire catalog of episodes so I am enjoying it immensely.

The other news that is fit to print is that it is the start of restaurant week in Baltimore.  I have never heard of restaurant week but apparently it has been going on for years and it happens twice in one year, July being one of the months.   There is a list of restaurants you can choose from and you can get a selection of three course meals for $30.08.   It is a nice way to try some of the nicer establishments that you would not ordinarily go to because they are out of your price range  (well, out of some of our price ranges, at any rate).

We are going to go to La Tavola down in Little Italy.  We have eaten there before and really enjoyed it, but it can be rather expensive.  But this will be a nice way to get a good meal there for not that much spent.   I am going to have to look in to restaurant week when it comes back again because there are a lot of eateries that I want to try.   It will be a change at any rate.

I normally work Wednesday night but I am taking tomorrow off (yay!) so I can hang around here during the day and go out to eat at night.  Sometimes it is nice to have a weekday off.  I can do as little as I want.  And we have been so busy at the library this summer.   It will be nice to have a break!

We had a good program yesterday with storytelling and origami and we had 71 people attending! Not bad at all!

Have a great day everybody!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Catered Affair Breaking Free

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  July 29, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I knew what you were talking about as soon as I read the title! We watch it too, although Husbandji can’t stand her!! (Too much like “you know who” maybe?)

    RICHAAAAAAAAAAAAAARD!!!!! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Indigo  |  July 29, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    The Bucket Woman is so funny and bizarre. My coworker Joanne has a lot of things in common with the Bucket woman

    Reply
  • 3. javabear  |  July 30, 2008 at 4:02 am

    Oh, that Bucket woman! “Bouquet”
    I love her family, the lot of tramps. 🙂
    A day off! What fun! Hope you can stay cool. Enjoy your dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

