Breaking Free

July 30, 2008 at 5:09 pm 4 comments

My therapist cut me loose today.

I don’t blame her, the past few times I had very little to talk about.  I seem to be relatively happy and well adjusted and that is a good thing, in my opinion.

So, I had been going once a week, then every other week, and then a month and now I won’t be seeing her at all.   But she did say that she would be there if I should need her in the future.  I am happy about this because I feel that she is a very good therapist and one that I connected with and it is nice to know that I can go back if I ever have need of more therapy.

I guess I have been seeing her for about a year now.   I must be improving!

One thing she did say and something I will need help with is expanding my support network.  I know that I have many of you “blogging buddies” but I don’t tend to make a lot of friends in real life, so I basically have Chris, my mom and my sister.    I need to get out more and meet more people but I tend to be somewhat introverted as many of you already know and I like my time alone.   And I don’t think spending time alone is necessarily a bad thing.  I do like to watch movies and read but it would be nice to get out once in a while and do something else.

It would also be nice to have some support other than Chris because there are times that he is doing a Wiccan service or visiting his mom and I tend to just stay in when I could be going out and meeting a friend.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

I was thinking about maybe getting involved with local theater.  I do so love me a Broadway play and maybe I can do something backstage to help out.   It might be kind of fun. Kind of like Mickey and Judy putting on a show.   And one of Chris’s friends is involved in theater so I have someone I can contact.  Maybe I will work on that.

Of course I may just end up doing what I always do and staying in with my book.  We shall see!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Bucket Woman Lightning storm

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  July 30, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Not a bad idea! Maybe you should look into some local book clubs too!

    Reply
  • 2. javabear  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    I like that theatre idea. Go for it!!

    Of course having Chris there is like having 5 friends! Sort of.

    I can SO relate to not having a sufficient support network! Besides blog friends, I’ve basically got none. Some of my blog friends are very close, near, and dear, but not in a physical sense. I, like you, enjoy my time alone when I can get it. Yes, I’m an introvert.

    My therapist is encouraging me to take classes at the local college in order to meet new people. That’s also an idea.

    Congratulations on graduating from therapy. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  July 31, 2008 at 2:56 am

    the best way to meet friends is to get involved with some hobby or activity doing something you like to do.
    That way if you ‘dont meet anyone’ you at least were doing something that interests you
    Theatre sounds like an excellent way to do just that.

    Reply
  • 4. Indigo  |  July 31, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    I’m glad you’re doing so much better. There’s nothing like having a therapist say “You’re fixed!” Hee hee hee. I’m happy for you. I ,ove you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

