Lightning storm

August 2, 2008 at 11:28 am 5 comments

Last night we had a lightning storm.   I really hate those!  The sky lit up and the thunder rolled.  And the dog was quite scared, so I let her jump up on the  bed with me.   That seemed to calm both of us down and we held on tight until the worst was over.

Did I mention that Chris is in Altoona visiting his mom?

I woke up because the sound coming from the street was rather noisy.  There was a lot of talking and it sounded like something being said over a speaker.  I looked out the window and the steet is filled with fire trucks.  I eventually saw the problem.  The church across the street seems to be burning the ground!

It must have been hit by lightning.  There are flames coming out of the roof and the bell tower seems to be completely shot.  I am not sure what time the lightning storm happened  because I did not check the clock but it was still dark when it occurred.     I wonder how long the church had been burning before someone noticed that it was on fire?

I am hoping the church would have been empty at the time so no one is inside that could be hurt. There is a medic and an ambulance here but I think it might just be a precaution.   They don’t appear to be taking anybody away. 

This is rather exciting in an odd sort of way.  I have never really seen the firemen in action before.  I have seen the after math of a fire when something has burned down but never one as it is happening.  There is a collection of neighbors standing on the sidewalk in front of the house watching.   I am making some coffee and then I might go out and watch some, too.

My next door neighbor’s cat is even in on the action.  He is sitting on my porch.  

Anyway, I will try to post an update as the day goes on!  Chris has something to come home to! I have texted him about twice already as he is probably asleep right now.  I guess I should be asleep but with all the noise, that will be impossible, even with the AC on. 

So, if you are in Baltimore, you can come by Hampden and see the action.

Oh, I have to put some curlers in my hair.  Maybe the news crew is out there and I can get on the TV!

UPDATE

It is now about two hours later.  The roof of the church is completely burned out.  It looks like the fire is out but they are still pouring water on it.  Could it still be smoldering?  They are focusing the water on the steeple, and the steeple is about half gone.  I am thinking they will have to knock the steeple over because it looks precarious and I am sure they don’t want it to fall on anyone, or anything.

We still have a crowd of people outside.     The church looks really damaged. With the roof gone, I am sure that the church itself is now full of water.   I wonder if they will have to tear the whole thing down.  Most of the church is made from stone, but I wonder if it can be salvaged.    I have not gone outside yet.  I have been watching from the window.    I have been up since seven.  I hope I can get a little sleep later on, when the hubbub has died down. 

It may go on for hours!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Breaking Free Here and there

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  August 2, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I, too, hope that no one was hurt. Hopefully they were insured so that they can rebuild.

    P.S. Please let us know if your curler-filled head made it on TV! Maybe someone will post it on YouTube!!

    Reply
  • 2. javabear  |  August 2, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Wow! What excitement! I feel bad for the members of the church. Fire is so distructive, and losing something to a fire can be traumatic. It was a pretty church, too.

    Hope you get some rest today.

    Reply
  • 3. Steve Rebooted  |  August 3, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Well, I love those kind of storms. I sat on the screened porch and drank coffee. 😆

    Reply
  • 4. Chris Liits [Sidney Hound]  |  August 4, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Sad, some of the things that one knows…… Altoona, home of Chris’ Mum, and also the famous GG1 locomotive of the Pen State Railway!

    Reply
  • 5. Dr. Sparky  |  August 5, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Yikes! We had a bad one go through tonight … tornado warnings and all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

