More Book notes

August 12, 2008 at 10:50 am 1 comment

Just finished four teen novels in a row.

One was your standard “girl gets hit by car, girl ends up in a coma, parents pull the plug” novels. They happen every year. And this one was not very good. But if someone asks me for a book in that genre, I have one to give them.

I also read a short novel filled with crap short stories. Just awful. And I read a short novel about what it would have been like in the Superdome during hurricane Katrina. That one showed promise. At least the kids can learn from that one!

One novel I read and thouroughly enjoyed was the Writing Class by Jincy Willet. This was an adult novel that I managed to throw into the mix and am glad I did!

It centers around Amy, a woman to teaches an adult education class in writing for the local college. She gets quite a variety of students, all ready to turn in recent work and be criticized. Unfortunately for Amy, one of her students has gone around the bend and starts playing some dangerous pranks that eventually lead to murder.

The book is witty and very funny. I liked the fact that she included the writing of each of the students in the class and you could see how very different their styles were. Could their be clues in the subtext of the various plots? The teacher, Amy, also has created a blog. She wanted it to be her own personal space on the web and is dismayed when people actually find the damn thing and begin to leave comments. But she soldiers on and continues to post.

If you like a book about writing, the process behind writing and peer criticism, this might be the book for you. It also is a darn good mystery. It is very well written and as I said before, it is pretty funny. I got a real kick out of it and read it in a day and a half, not being able to put the thing down. It is great when I can find a book that pulls me right through it. I have read some duds as of late and I needed a couple of real page turners to keep me on track. You know all about my reading habit, so you know how important finding a good book is to me.

My friend gave me 8 in the Box by Yessayan, and I have started it and am going to see how it goes. This one is about the district attorney’s office, and so far it is a little too legal for me. I am not really into the court system, more into the police investigation side of things, so I might give this one a pass.

Anyway, happy reading everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New To Me Los Campesinos

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Indigo  |  August 13, 2008 at 10:21 am

    too bad there’s no way to throw Jessica Fletcher into the mix since the story is about novels and murder

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

