Mamma Mia!

August 16, 2008 at 1:05 am 5 comments

Yesterday I went to see the movie Mamma Mia again.

I know I am a sap.

Maybe I would just like to believe that there is a place in the world that people live on a beautiful Greek island and spontaneously sing Abba songs.   Maybe that would be a place where I would belong. 

The movie is joyous and silly.  And it is true, Pierce Brosnan can’t sing.   But that just adds to the charm.  It means that ANYBODY can sing an Abba song, no matter what quality your voice may be in.  You can belt out “Take a Chance on Me” or “Dancing Queen”.  And you can have fun doing it.

The time I spent in the theater, I was captivated.   The cast really seemed to be having a great time.  I loved Meryl Streep in the role.  And Julie Walters was a hoot.   It would have been so much fun to be there during filming.     I just wanted the music to go on and on and on.

Now it makes me want to go back to New York and see the show again.   I have been listening to the soundtrack in my car over and over again.  I am probably going to drive Chris to drink.  I know when the DVD comes out, I am probably going to buy two or three, just to have a back-up.

I really want to put on the show in my backyard.  I don’t know what role I would play.   But I really would need to sing “Super Trooper!”

Hell, I would even add some songs that didn’t make it into the show!  

Anyway, if you really want a good time and a chance to forget about everything, go see Mamma Mia!  You will love it!  I sure did!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Los Campesinos I sense a theme…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Rebooted  |  August 16, 2008 at 2:23 am

    It’s on my very long list of movies to see!

    Reply
  • 2. Indigo  |  August 17, 2008 at 4:12 am

    That movie was a blast. It’s a shame that Pierce Brosnan can’t sing worth a crap, hee hee.

    Reply
  • 3. Urspo  |  August 17, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    despite a few things disappointing I enjoyed it too.

    Reply
  • 4. TigerYogiji  |  August 18, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    So….you thought that it was okay? ;P

    Reply
  • 5. Chris Liits [Sidney Hound]  |  August 18, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Hmm, Mamma Mia. I’m not keen to go and see the film. I went to see the stage show when it opened in London and I was so disappointed. I was mad keen to see it as I love the music and the hype was terrific. David had managed to get tickets for my birthday.
    We came out at the interval.
    We eventually left the theatre just before curtain down, the elapsed time being taken up with my arguing for my money back.
    Never have I heard such a load of shite so badly sung and such a contrived piece of crap so poorly acted.
    This, I’m not keen to see the film.
    Everybody I know who has seen the film recons that it’s a hoot and way better than the stage show.
    The good news being a rumour that as soon as the film comes of “second line” screening i.e. when it’s done the rounds of all the regional cinemas, it’s going to be done as a “Sing-along-a-” type film.
    I’ve been to see Sing-along-a Sound of Music and it’s such good fun [everybody turning up in fancy dress].
    In anticipation, I’m on a diet so that my white lycra cat-suit fits me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

