I has a Mad

August 28, 2008 at 1:59 pm 9 comments

This time I am mad at the economy.

As you know, one of my favorite pastimes is reading mystery novels.

As you also may know, many of my favorite mystery authors reside in the U.K.

And I love them.

Often, as is the case, they release new books months before they hit the shores in the U.S.   And because of the wonder of the internet and global shipping,  I could purchase them and devour them long before most of my friends in the U.S. even knew they had been published.   It was a little thing I liked to do.  It supported my favorite writers and it made me feel like I was in the know about something, even something small like the world of mystery books.

Then the economy took a turn for the worse and gas prices started to spike.   And now, I spend my money filling up the tank,  and paying bills.     Much of the “extra” money I had for little luxuries is no longer there.

And, to top it off, the exchange rate on the U.S. dollar is really high and so, when you add the cost of shipping into the mix, the chances of getting my books first really is no longer a possibility.

And this makes me sad.

Especially since Barbara Vine, P.D.James, Val McDermid and Arnuldar Indridisson all have new books.

And I want them NOW!

Sigh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Head Cold Far and away

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  August 28, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    😦 Perhaps you could write to the authors and ask for their help. Do they publish e-books?

    I like the title of your post, btw.

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  August 28, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    ((HUGS)) 😦

    Reply
  • 3. Sidney Hounds  |  August 28, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    You want I should send you some?

    Reply
  • 4. Halo  |  September 1, 2008 at 12:54 am

    am sorry. didn’t mean to be bad.

    Reply
  • 5. urspo  |  September 1, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    I never thought to think how widespread our global economy goes with cause and effect – but books?
    It makes sense I suppose; I guess no one is uneffected by anything anymore.

    Reply
  • 6. Steve Rebooted  |  September 2, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Start pimping your sexy self on the block 😛 Seriously, everyone’s watching their money. For me, it’s less carry-out, and I love me some pizza!

    Reply
  • 7. javabear  |  September 2, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    😦 Is sorry you no got books. You will get to read them, though, just not first.

    Reply
  • 8. Abhishek Upadhyay  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Ya American dollar is weakening.But thank god I dont need to worry about that.Books are quite cheap in India.
    Specially that of Jeffery Archer.
    By the way I guess u know that Jeffery Archer is such a craze that his books are even sold on foot paths.

    Cheers

    Reply
  • 9. Steve Rebooted  |  September 7, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    hope you’re not still mad! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

