Thursday Thoughts

September 11, 2008 at 1:18 pm 4 comments

I am feeling a bit better today.

I was getting behind on my reading for the committee I am on, and that was making me nervous.  When I get upset, I can’t concentrate and reading becomes impossible.   But in the last two days I managed to finish two books and get a good start on a third, and I think I can get some good reading time in this weekend, so I should be back on track.   I will be happy when December comes and I can put the reading behind me and concentrate on my mystery novels!

Work has been so busy that I don’t have time to think of other issues that affect my life, and that seems to be a good thing.   The problem with work being so busy is that when I get home I am so tired that I become useless.   I can only manage to put in a stupid movie and sit and watch it.   But, like all things, this too shall pass and I think things will eventually level out.

The reason that I took the week off in the first place was so that Chris could rent a van and we could drive to my mom’s house and purchase my sisters scooter from them.  Chris always wanted a scooter, and I am so worried about my moms financial situation that I thought that this would be a perfect solution.

I should just keep my nose out of things.

When we got there, after renting a van (and this is not cheap)  Chris discovered that the scooter would not start.   He got upset and started blaming my mom and my sister’s boyfriend for not disclosing this fact and then my mom told him that the store that sold it to her was out of business.   Chris could not be consoled and as we had driven up there on a Saturday, on Sunday he decided that he was leaving to return the van as soon as possible.  And then he left.

I can only think that the whole fiasco is my fault because I should have checked the scooter the last time I was there and had my brilliant idea.  I should have pulled it out and see if it started and I failed to do so.  I could have stopped these problems from happening.

But I am a fixer.  I am always trying to smooth things over, to make things better, to try and make everyone happy.   If my mom could see the scooter she would be happy. If Chris had a scooter, he would be happy.  So I hatched a plan and it backfired.

And the real reason this upsets me so is that I don’t have many people in my life.  I have my mother, my sister and Chris.   I know Chris and my sister cannot ever be together, but I thought that while my sister was away, at least my mom could spend some time with Chris to get to know him better.  And he left so quickly that did not happen. 

Anyway.  That is my side of the story.  And I am sticking to it.  There is more to tell and I might get to it, I might not.  Depends on how I am feeling.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Better My Boring Life…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  September 11, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    ((HUGS))

    Reply
  • 2. javabear  |  September 12, 2008 at 6:25 am

    I’m really sorry things didn’t work out. But honey, you needn’t blame yourself. And I don’t think Chris was angry at you about any of it. It’s a good thing that you have such a heart of a peacemaker.

    Reply
  • 3. Steve Rebooted  |  September 12, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Tension is never fun. Hope things look up soon.

    Reply
  • 4. indigo  |  September 12, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Hi Doug!
    I never blamed you at all. I blamed your sister’s loser-drunk trailer-trash numbskull boyfriend for wasting my time and money.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

