Back!

October 30, 2008 at 12:07 pm 4 comments

I think I was taking a couple of days off from blog posting.   Then it seemed like more days and more days went by and I have said nothing….  so I figured I had better hop on today and let you in on an update.

Not that anything has been happening.    I have moved to my new branch and I really love it.  My coworkers are great, the branch is nice and although it is different,  I really like the atmosphere.   So, if I was worried, I needn’t have been, and I am almost done with my third week here.  Good stuff.

I have been madly reading teen fiction and some non fiction for my teen committee, and thankfully, we have to have everything read by early December and then I can stop.    It is a lot of working reading all this stuff, and some of it I really like, and some of it not so much.   I am reading one now called “Bog Child” if you can believe it and it is all about Ireland and the IRA and Irish history and although it is interesting, I am not sure that a teen will gravitate towards it.    I think you would have to have had some background info on the IRA and Irish history to really get it, and they don’t tend to start teaching that in schools around here , although if you were Irish, I am sure you would know all about that.   

I also read a book about teens on death row and I thought that it was pretty interesting, even though I suspected that I would hate it before I started reading it.  But it turned out to be pretty good and makes you think about things that you might not normally think about, like conditions in the prison system and capital punishment.    (I try NEVER to think about capital punishment!)

And, at the SAME time, I am trying to read the Draining Lake by Indridison,  which is an adult mystery set in Iceland, and I read snippets of it whenever I can get the chance.    So it is really slow going.  But I am really enjoying it all the same. Maybe this weekend it will be calm enough to get some reading done!

I DO know, that this weekend, Chris is going to take me to see High School Musical 3.  I am MAKING him take me!  And he is GOING to like it!    I don’t think he ever saw the first two.   That will be a treat, that is for sure!

Oh, and on music news, this week  Lady Gaga and the Saturdays both had a cd come out, so run to the store and get those!

Hmmmm.

I think that is all I have at the moment.  I will try not to be a stranger.  I promise to stop by all the blogs and say something intelligent  (or damn near it, anyway.) 

Have a good Thursday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

More Silliness Happy All Souls Day!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Rebooted  |  October 30, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    I’m guessing you’re with Baltimore County cuz of the other 2 branches you’ve worked at (based on what I’ve seen on stats). You’ll have to let me know where you’re at. I hang in libraries, regularly. Glad the transition has been good for you, and it’s always nice to hear from ya.

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  October 31, 2008 at 11:32 am

    I’m glad the new place and new people are nice. I was a little worried myself given how much you enjoyed your last location.

    You are definitely a talent when it comes to reading. You’re in the perfect profession, from what I can tell.

    Happy Hallowe’en!

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogiji  |  October 31, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    High School Musical 3?!! Really?!! Well, enjoy it Duckie!

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  November 1, 2008 at 5:00 am

    I am glad to hear your new position is doing OK

    Boo! and Happy Halloween!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

