Happy Birthday to Me!

November 8, 2008 at 2:08 pm 5 comments

Just a Saturday note, my friends.

Tomorrow is my birthday.  I will be 43 years old!  43!   Me!

And I have the day off, so I really plan on relaxing and taking it easy.   To make things even better, I decided to take off on Monday as well, to give me an extra day for festivities.

Not that I am going out and party and have a hangover or anything.    I just wanted an extra day off!

Chris and I have several plans for the day.  We are probably going to get up and go to First Watch for Breakfast.  It really is one of our favorite breakfast places and they make wonderful things.  Maybe I will get some pancakes.  That will start the day off right.

For dinner I have made reservations for Roy’s restaurant and Hawaiin fusion grill, have any of you been to one?   Apparently they are in several locations, and they started off in Hawaii but have migrated across the US.   We have one located in one of the nice hotels down near the harbor in Baltimore and I always wanted to try it,  so I decided that for my birthday I will.     It will make a nice change because it will be somewhere new and exciting and I have been to the web page and the menu looks pretty good.  Lots of seafood and I really like that.   I will fill you in with a full review when I get back. 

I only hope for 2 things for my birthday,  I hope to get Fable 2 and Lego Batman for my Xbox 360.   I have been having a GREAT time with the Xbox,  and I am so glad I got it!  I checked out Lego Indiana Jones from the library and it is really a whole lotta fun,  and I am sure Lego Batman will be even better!   So I spend a lot of my free time playing video games.  Am I having a midlife crisis?   I am not sure.    I think it must be a guy thing because we have another librarian here that loves his video games.    I promise I will still try to post!

Other than that, it is crunch time for my young adult novel group.  We have to have everything read by the December meeting and we still have about 16 titles to discuss so I have to get them read.  And some of them are LONG.  I spent yesterday reading one called “Bonechiller” by Macnamee  and it was pretty good, all about the chilling landscape of Canada and a Windigo that seems to be targeting teens in the area.    A good creepy/horror novel that I think teens would really like.   I read it in one sitting.

I am struggling with one called Graceling now about a young woman with the gift for killing.  The gift is called a grace, and you know you have one if your eyes are different colors.  (i.e. one blue/one brown) .  Well the young woman has met a young man who also seems to have the grace for killing and I think a romance is going to blossom.    I don’t HATE it, but I am not really a fantasy reader.  When I was younger I read a lot of fantasy but it seems the story lines tend to be the same,  quests and such,  and I quickly graduated to mystery.    And fantasy novels tend to be long  (this one is almost 500 pages) and I am only about 100 pages in.   So I will see what I can do with it.   Maybe Monday when I am off, I will hunker down and READ!

Anyway, this post is turning out to be much longer than anticipated. Lucky for you!

hope you are all having a good weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I kissed a Dog (and I liked it!) Sister Unity

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Rebooted  |  November 9, 2008 at 12:32 am

    Happy Early Birthday. I hope it’s a great one!

    Reply
  • 2. javabear  |  November 9, 2008 at 1:46 am

    Happy Birthday, Dewey! Hope you have a great day and really enjoy the restaurant. It sounds like yummy fun.

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogiji  |  November 9, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Happy Birthday Daaaaaahling!!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  November 10, 2008 at 2:54 am

    heavens ! I step away from blog-land for a few days and I miss this event!
    Many happy returns on the feast day of your nativity!

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  November 11, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Belated Happy Birthday! I hope your extra days off were relaxing and fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

