Blame it on Facebook

November 24, 2008 at 1:39 am 5 comments

I know I have not been posting as of late.

I think the blame can be put on Facebook.

We have an experiment at work.  We are all supposed to create a Facebook account so we can learn what one is and what it can do.   And so I complied and created my account.

Man, does Facebook suck up time.  You make all sorts of friends on Facebook.  You can search and reconnect with old friends.   You can set up applications and make funny cartoon animals, or create a werewolf and attack your friends, or send Facebook email to people you once knew.   It is quite fun and like I said before, it wastes a lot of time.

That and the fact that I am counting down the days to be finished with the teen novels.  I have been reading my little head off.   Some are wonderful, and some are terrible.  The last three I am quite ambivalent about.  But my meeting is in early December so they all have to be read by then.  I have read almost three this weekend!

Oh, and I am playing Lego Batman on the Xbox.  Lego Batman rocks.  If you have an Xbox, run out and get it.  You will love it.  Trust me on this.  

Last night I had this recipe for vegetarian chili.  If you see a recipe  that ever calls for a fennel bulb, run away.  The chili was terrible.  I don’t think it had enough tomatoes and I tried to make it in the slow cooker and it cooked for a long time.  It had three kinds of beans (white , kindey and black)  and it was terrible.  And it must have made five  pounds.  I was going to feed it to the dog, but all those beans would have proved to be a disaster.   And I don’t want to try and sleep through dog farts.   So, away it went.   But at least I can say I tried.

Thanksgiving is coming and I don’t have plans.  I think Chris and I are going to a diner.  I am happy about this because I am feeling antisocial and I don’t want to have to force a smile through dinner.  I just want to eat with Chris.  Is that too much to ask?

Anyway. We are making cranberry bread  (and before you get too excited, it is from a mix)  and then we are going to watch some TV or something.   Then I am going to bed.

So, you really haven’t missed much.

Get on Facebook.  I will see you there!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Give me five seconds… Ah Thanksgiving.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve's Rebooted  |  November 24, 2008 at 2:00 am

    There are so many facebook addicts, I’m noticing. Maybe we should open a support group 🙂 Always good to hear from you.

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  November 24, 2008 at 3:29 am

    between work and blogging I have far too much time consumption as it is without falling into the Facebook world !

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  November 24, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Facebook is cool but I’ve resisted the urge to get into all the apps for it. It’s nice to update once in a while and keep in touch with friends.

    I like fennel, but perhaps there was just too much of it. Too bad it didn’t work out. One thing about cooking I’ve learned, though, is that sometimes recipes don’t work out. I’ve had quite a few doozies.

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogiji  |  November 24, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    I concurr with Ur-Spo. You will not be seeing me on Facebook either. Sorry! 😦

    Reply
  • 5. johnmichael  |  November 25, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    I was thinking of getting a Facebook account.

    Right now, Civilizations Revolutions is taking up my time on my Xbox 360.

    Batman Legos, really? My nephew loves the Legos Starwars games for Xbox. It looks a little juvenile, but then again having an Xbox doesn’t exactly scream grown-up (and I’m far from growing up if it means giving up my Xbox). Have you tried Indiana Jones Legos? That’s one that the same nephew loves on DS Lite.

    P.S. I also have a Nintendo DS Lite (I play Brain Age, Sims 2 Urbz, Sims 2 Castaway and Legend of Zelda on it).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

