The Christmas that wasn’t.

December 25, 2008 at 11:50 pm 5 comments

It is Christmas day, and my mom and sister are both sick. We did get up and open presents, but then my mom had to go lie down and my sister soon followed. We had to tell my cousin Terry that we could not come for Christmas dinner. I really wanted to go, as I have not seen my cousins for around six years or so. I am worried that when my mom and sister die, they won’t even remember me.

But we stayed here and I made do.

I got so hungry around 6:30 that I had to search the house for food. I managed to find some ground beef and cheese and buns and frozen french fries so I made myself a burger and ate it under the tree.

How festive is that?

Anyway. I am not feeling the spirit this year.

I sure hope mom gets better soon. I only have until Sunday.

When I get back home, Chris will be gone for a week to visit friends, so I probably will not leave the house, other than to go to work.

We shall see.

Hope next year is better.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Christmas Eve Christmas Tourists.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. javabear  |  December 26, 2008 at 1:19 am

    I’m so sorry Christmas was a bust for you. 😦 I talked to Chris earlier today, and he didn’t seem to be having a wonderful time, either.

    I worry about your sister. She doesn’t sound good. I hope she feels better soon. Same for your mother. I really hope she feels well enough to have a wonderful visit with you while you are there. Did Lola have a good Christmas? Give her a hug, a pat, or a scratch behind the ears for me, what ever she likes. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  December 26, 2008 at 1:23 am

    As Kate Hepburn said
    “Well, there will be other Christmases”

    I hope the new year is a better one for you and yours.

    Reply
  • 3. Indigo  |  December 26, 2008 at 2:23 am

    I’m sorry our vacations didn’t line up this year. I really missed you this week too. 😦

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogiji  |  December 26, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I hope that the rest of your vacation is better!

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  December 26, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    I’m really sorry things didn’t work out for you this year. Cheeseburgers aren’t so bad. They’re good comfort food. We had macaroni and cheese on Christmas eve.

    I hope your mom and sister feel better soon and your holiday season improves. *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

