Christmas Tourists.

December 28, 2008 at 1:32 am 6 comments

Today it is Saturday.  I decided to come back to Baltimore a few days early as my mom and sister were not feeling well and I just seemed to be getting in everybody’s way.  I wanted them to be able to recover without feeling like they had to entertain me in any way and so I motored it back here yesterday.  The drive seemed to go well, and I was able to have dinner with Chris before he left for his week off to South Carolina this morning.

This morning  I saw him off and the house is already pretty lonely.    I took myself out to breakfast and had some eggs benedict, and then went to the super market for necessities.   I came back and decided to take a nap on the sofa, and laid down only to discover that the dog had thrown up on the sofa and I was now laying in it.   (yuck). 

I cleaned up the mess and luckily she had only thrown up on a blanket and I could throw that in the wash.   Then I really DID get my nap for real! 

I got up and made myself a couple of turkey burgers and fries and gave some fries to the dog and that seemed to make her feel better.  

Then I went out for coffee.

The only problem I am having this evening is that we have this GOD DAMNED light show half a block away.  The tackiest lights you ever did see,  an entire block long.   And to make matters worse, it is a famous light show that they advertise on the news, and so now I am sitting in the quiet and all I can hear are these tourists walking back and forth out past my front door, going to see these crappy lights.

It makes me want to go on the porch and should things like:

“Merry  F***ing Christmas!”

“Santa RAPED me under the tree last year!”

“There is no Friggin’ Santa  Asshole!”

And, well, you get my drift.   I really am NOT in the mood for happy family time walking down my street.

So, I think I will put in a TV show and tune out for a while.       Back to work Monday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Christmas that wasn’t. I’ve been tagged!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. javabear  |  December 28, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Sorry you’re mood is sour. I hope you feel better soon. Perhaps work will help?

    I’m glad you and Chris got to spend a little bit of time together before he left. He got here and is doing fine so far. My family hasn’t freaked him out too much yet.

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  December 28, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Poor lamb!!! I hope that your Sunday is better! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogiji  |  December 28, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    P.S. You’ve been tagged! Check out my blog tomorrow! 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Indigo  |  December 28, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    It does suck that our vacations didn’t line up this year. At least next year they will.

    Yeah, Christmas sucks. I liked the Yule celebration much better 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. urspo  |  December 29, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Back to work, back to normal
    I hope 2009 is better for you.

    Reply
  • […] Christmas Tourists.Dewey’s Dartboard (28/Dec/2008) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

