Cd’s … ect.

December 31, 2008 at 3:08 pm 2 comments

Last night I came home and had a package from Amazon in the mailbox. I was excited.

I bought the CD “Abbalicious” that is the work of several New York drag queens singing Abba songs (including Hedda Lettuce). I love drag queens and I love ABBA, so how could I go wrong?

The CD is fine. But there is something … missing. I think the CD format is all wrong for the medium. The fun about drag queens is actually SEEING them perform. Listening to them on CD sounds like… well… a bunch of guys singing ABBA songs. Not that there is anything wrong with that. It just lacks the glamour.

But I still like it. Because anybody can sing an ABBA song, and should. I think the world would be a better place with more ABBA.

Today I got to order two books from Amazon UK. I ordered the new one from Peter James (who I really like) and of course, I ordered Portobello by Ruth Rendell. I will read anything and everything Ruth Rendell will write. And from yesterday’s post, you could see that she was included on my list of twelve books!

Judgement in Stone is a classic and I do suggest you read that one but there are several others to try, including “Lake of Darkness”. She also writes the inpector Wexford series but many of them are stand alone thrillers. I think I like the stand alones the best, but the Wexfords are a smashing good read.

She also writes under the name Barbara Vine, so if you happen to come across a Barbara Vine novel, they are also quite good. The most recent was the Birthday Present and I liked that one quite a bit. I think that one is still only available in the UK. But it should cross the pond soon.

How did this post start? Oh, yeah. Drag queens. And books. And… what else?

It is almost the new year.

Happy 2009 everybody!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

For Spo Happy New Year!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Indigo  |  January 1, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Who wouldn’t like ABBA? Hee hee. I love you so much Doug!

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  January 2, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Happy 2009 to you too
    I concur – drag queens are to be seen, not heard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

