Happy New Year!

January 2, 2009 at 3:22 am 2 comments

I hope you all had a great new year.

I rang the new year in right with a friend.  Chris is still in South Carolina so could not celebrate with me, but my friend Chris from work wanted to go out so we had a nice dinner to ring in 2009.

We went to the Melting Pot and I had never been, but it was quite good.  The Melting Pot is all about fondue.  I think some of you may have heard about it because I do believe it is a chain, so they may be all over the states.

We started out with a lager cheese fondue and they gave us apples, veggies and bread cubes to dip.  Then we had a nice salad.  The main course was a big plate of raw meat  (yum) but it came with a boiling broth that you could skewer the meat and let it boil for a few minutes and let it cook and then you had a huge array of dipping sauces that you could use.  It came with chicken, salmon, shrimp, sirloin and filet.  It was pretty good!

Then we had a flaming turtle fondue for dessert, with pound cake, cheesecake, marshmallows , strawberries and bananas.  It was yummy. 

They even gave us each a champagne flute with the restaurant name on it as a memento.  They said we could go to the bar for a glass of champagne but I was far too full by that time and had already had some soda and coffee, so we headed home. 

It was a good night!

I had off today and really didn’t do anything much.   It is nice to have the day off during the week.   Even if you don’t really get anything done.  I have to work early in the morning so am thinking about hitting the hay.     It is getting to be close to 11 and I am usually in bed by now.

I am looking foward to Chris being home on Saturday.  It has been nearly two weeks that I have seen him, even though I did see him on Friday night but he had to leave early saturday for his trip.   And I had just returned from mine, so we have been apart a long time. 

It has been quiet here in the house, but I have been trying to keep busy and stay out of trouble.

I hope tomorrow doesn’t drag on and on and on.  I am ready for the weekend!

Sleep well everybody.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Cd’s … ect. And I don’t even LIKE vampires!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Indigo  |  January 3, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    I’m almost halfway home now! I love you 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. javabear  |  January 4, 2009 at 1:29 am

    I love The Melting Pot! It’s been a long time since I’ve been to one, but my oh my they are good!! Glad you had a good time, even if you couldn’t be with your honey. I was with your honey. He conked out and was asleep well before midnight.;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

