Pop Culture notes

January 5, 2009 at 1:33 pm 2 comments

As I have a few topics to cover, today you get some “mini-posts”.

1.  John Barrowman  – Music Music Music!

I just got the CD in the mail this weekend, and I was very excited.  I love John Barrowman, both as an actor and singer, and was looking forward to getting this CD.   I have played it several times and I do like it, I am just not sure where he sees his intended audience.    Some of the songs are a bit schmaltzy.  He does a Barry Mannilow cover.   He sings “Right here waiting for you”  and although that is a pretty song, it is a song that has been overplayed and I can hardly stand to listen to it, regardless of who may be singing it.   He also sings  Billy Joel’s “Uptown Girl” for some odd reason.    My two favorite songs on the CD are two songs that I have not heard of and may be original material written  for this particular CD, and I hope that in the future, John will craft a pop album with all original material and stop dipping from the barrel of covers.    One or two covers on a CD are fine, but let’s not become a lounge lizard!

2.   Gossip Girl.

Will someone PLEASE call the producer and get them to fire the guy that plays Serena’s boyfriend, Aaron.   He has the charisma of a rag mop, and acts about as well.     Blake Lively is wonderful and she really needs to be dating someone with pizzazz.      This guy is not it.    And he has been on for way too many episodes.   It is time for him to go.

3.   Sanctuary.

This little gem is on the Sci-Fi channel and stars Amanda Tapping of Stargate fame.    And I do like the premise.  Amanda Tapping is a scientist who studies abnormals  (people and creatures with strange abilities) and puts them in a sanctuary for their own protection or for the protection of others (because some of them can be nasty.)

Unfortunately, the show seems to be going downhill as it has introduced vampires and werewolves.    Not that there is anything wrong with vampires and werewolves, they are just a bit overdone in popular media.  And the show was much better without them.     I liked it better when the abnormals were strange and wonderful and creative.      Just my two cents.

4.  How I met your Mother.

Has this been getting good reviews?   It seems to have been.  Maybe I am just not a fan of sitcoms, but I have watched about three episodes from the current season and the show does nothing for me.  I just don’t find it funny.  And the characters don’t seem to have any substance!     I know that most sitcom characters are flat and that is why I don’t really like them, but once in a while a sitcom comes around that is quite good  (at least good for my standards)  but this one just misses me completely.

And some of the characters are a little annoying and I can’t see that anybody would continue to hang around with them.     So, I have learned the show is not for me!

 

Just some of my thoughts.  take them or leave them!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

And I don’t even LIKE vampires! Apology to Chris…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TigerYogiji  |  January 5, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    How I Met Your Mother is an aquired taste. I think that they are trying to be the “Friends” for the 21st century.

    A really good sitcom is right before this show on Mondays! It’s called The Big Bang Theory” and we love it! You should check that show out! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. duane  |  January 5, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Agreed about Barrowman’s CD. I LOVE him on Torchwood, and really like his singing voice, but I would like to see more original stuff. I really liked What About Us? so I wonder why he didn’t do more of that on this CD? Weird.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

