The Rose Labyrinth

January 9, 2009 at 1:15 pm 9 comments

I got a book for Christmas  (and this shouldn’t suprise anyone…)

I got the Rose Labyrinth by Titania Hardie.  I have been anxious to read this book for a long time.  Finally the day arrives that I can start.

I discovered the book several months ago on Amazon.co.uk.  I read the description and it sounded good but I held off buying it because the exchange rate was so high.    I put it on my wish list and moved on.

One day I was searching the libary catalog, and there it was. The Rose Labyrinth.  I was very excited. It meant that not only was it going to be published in the U.S., the library was going to get it! So I placed a reserve on it and waited.

Then suddenly I get a notice that the library is NOT getting the book and canceling all the holds.    Not beaten yet, I put the book on my Christmas list.       I discovered the reason that the library cannot get the book is the format.  It comes with this sheaf of paper that are clues that the characters find that help them solve the mystery in the book..  The cover of the book is like a folder and one side holds all these pages of paper.   You could not circulate this in a library, as the paper would get lost or torn.    There are pictures on one side of the paper that form a puzzle, and apparently you can put the puzzle together and find another clue.  I have not done that yet, I am still reading the book!

I found out that Titania Hardie is a white witch and very well known in the U.K.  This is her first work of fiction but she has many books on numerology and oracles and the tarot and spells.    Quite exciting!    Chris was thrilled with that information.

The book itself is mysterious.  I am only about 100 pages in,  but really like it so far.   There is this key that was left through the generations and finally ended up in the possession of Will, who becomes determined to find out what lock the key will open.  

Unfortunately for Will, he never gets the chance.  I am assuming that his brother Alex will wind up with the key but at the moment, I don’t even know where the key is!

And there is Lucy, who just had a heart transplant and seems to be quite fond of Alex, and I am also assuming that they will solve the mystery together.

There are also pieces of paper that have clues that lead to other clues that lead to… well you get the drift.   The paper that comes with the book are the clues that the characters find, but the clues are also written IN the book, so I think having the clues early is just an extra touch.

I like the characters so far and am really liking the plot.  A bit supernatural, but not overly so.     I think it definately will be a good read.  

Better get back to it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Apology to Chris… Clam Chowder

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. indigo  |  January 12, 2009 at 1:07 am

    I think it’s cool that the book was written by a Wiccan 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. johnmichael  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Wow that sounds very fun!

    Reply
  • 3. bella  |  February 9, 2009 at 3:17 am

    I was trying to get the puzle done on the back of the cards. After some trial and error, i think i have it almost finished put the last card seems like there’s a 50/50 chance of it not being the right piece. Has anyone finished the puzzle. i would like to know. The finished product looks really cool too.

    Reply
    • 4. Karen  |  July 10, 2009 at 12:34 am

      hey, i finished the puzzle.. you can find the picture of the puzzle on one of the actual papers. find the paper with the music notes, and you’ll see on that paper a picture of the puzzle (not the whole puzzle but two thirds of it). If you can’t find that the first sentence of that paper reads “Enter the walled city famous for salt”

      i havent read the whole book yet but i’ve read some reviews online and MANY thought it was TERRIBLE.

      Reply
  • 5. Jocelyn  |  December 23, 2009 at 4:03 am

    Have you figured out what the puzzle means? I have been working on it for a year and I have yet to figure it out! It is beggining to frustrate me. PLEASE HELP PRETTY PLEASE!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Karen  |  December 26, 2009 at 12:12 am

    no i havent. i was only intrigued by the physical puzzle making.

    i believe th puzzle is only a gimmick to sell the book.

    dont stress yourself. its not worth it. and i agree with the reviews online: the book is terrible.

    Reply
  • 7. Jamie  |  April 11, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I’m also currently reading this book. I expected it to be more of a fantasy type novel based on the description and look of the cover. So I was a little disappointed in how far this book has gone over my head. I know little to nothing about European history, cabala, or Hebrew symbols. I did at least succeed in putting the puzzle together…but never figured out what it meant. I am still trying to glean a little meaning from the text backside of the puzzle. The author has some cheats on her website, but I haven’t used them yet. So far the whole thing has been frustratingly intriguing.

    Reply
  • 8. ladyluck  |  November 16, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    If someone wants to work with me and geniunly to solve this please email me at ladyluck413@hotmail.com

    Reply
  • 9. Jess  |  March 26, 2013 at 1:22 am

    My friend Kayla and I just finished putting hte cards together, but we can’t find out the hidden message in the cards. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

